Refugee Protection Claims Statistics

The Refugee Protection Division (RPD) of the Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada (IRB) hears and decides claims for refugee protection made in Canada.

Refugee protection can be conferred in Canada if the RPD determines that the claimant meets the United Nations definition of a Convention refugee, which has been incorporated into Canadian law, or that the claimant is a person in need of protection. Convention refugees are people who have a well-founded fear of persecution because of their race, religion, nationality, political opinion or membership in a particular social group. Membership in a particular social group can include sexual orientation, gender identity, being a woman, and HIV status. Persons in need of protection must show that if they return to their country of nationality, they will face a danger of torture, a risk to their life or a risk of cruel and unusual treatment or punishment.

A claim for refugee protection can be made by speaking to an officer from the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) at any port of entry upon arrival in Canada, or to an officer from Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada or CBSA at an inland office.

The officer decides whether the claim is eligible to be referred to the IRB. If the claim is eligible, it is sent (“referred”) to the RPD to start the claim for refugee protection process.

New System Claims

On December 15, 2012, the system for determining refugee protection claims made in Canada underwent significant changes. These included changes to the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act, as amended by the Balanced Refugee Reform Act and the Protecting Canada's Immigration System Act; new Immigration and Refugee Protection Regulations, which set processing time limits; and new Chairperson’s Refugee Protection Division Rules. Claims that are referred to the RPD on or after December 15, 2012, are what the IRB calls “new system claims.”

Legacy Claims

Refugee protection claims referred to the IRB before December 15, 2012—what the IRB calls “legacy claims”—are not subject to all of the new requirements. Claims that are referred to the IRB on or after December 15, 2012, must respect specific regulatory time limits for hearings, but those regulatory time limits do not apply to legacy claims. As a result, the IRB gives scheduling priority to new claims. That is not to say, however, that legacy claims will be lost in this new system. The IRB will continue to hear and decide as many legacy claims as possible using its existing resources. On May 8, 2017, the Chairperson announced the formation of the Legacy Task Force, which has a two-year mandate to reduce and eliminate the remaining legacy backlog.

Cessation and Vacation

The Minister may make an application to the RPD to cease refugee protection in any of the following circumstances, which are also set out in subsection 108(1) of the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act:

  • the person has voluntarily reavailed themself of the protection of their country of nationality;
  • the person has voluntarily reacquired their nationality;
  • the person has acquired a new nationality and now has the protection of the country of that new nationality;
  • the person has voluntarily become re-established in the country that they have left, and from which the person claimed refugee protection in Canada; or
  • the reasons for which the person sought refugee protection have ceased to exist.

The Minister may make an application to the RPD to vacate a decision to allow refugee protection because the original decision was obtained as a result of misrepresenting or withholding facts relating to a relevant matter.

Statistiques sur les demandes d’asile

La Section de la protection des réfugiés (SPR) de la Commission de l’immigration et du statut de réfugié du Canada (CISR) instruit et tranche les demandes d’asile présentées au Canada.

Un demandeur d’asile peut se voir octroyer l’asile au Canada si la SPR conclut qu’il est visé par la définition de réfugié au sens de la Convention des Nations Unies, laquelle a été intégrée aux lois canadiennes, ou s’il a qualité de personne à protéger. Les réfugiés au sens de la Convention sont des personnes qui craignent avec raison d’être persécutées du fait de leur race, de leur religion, de leur nationalité, de leurs opinions politiques ou de leur appartenance à un groupe social. L’appartenance à un groupe social peut comprendre l’orientation sexuelle, l’identité de genre, le fait d’être une femme et l’état sérologique relativement au virus de l’immunodéficience humaine (VIH). Les personnes à protéger doivent démontrer que, si elles retournaient dans leur pays de nationalité, elles seraient exposées à un risque d’être soumises à la torture, à une menace à leur vie ou au risque de traitements ou peines cruels et inusités.

Une personne peut présenter une demande d’asile en s’adressant à un agent de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) à un point d’entrée, à son arrivée au Canada, ou à un agent d’Immigration, Réfugiés et Citoyenneté Canada (IRCC) ou de l’ASFC, dans un bureau intérieur.

L’agent décide si la demande d’asile est recevable et si elle peut être déférée à la CISR. Si la demande d’asile est recevable, elle est transmise (déférée) à la SPR afin que soit entamé le processus de demande d’asile.

Demandes d’asile présentées sous le régime du nouveau système

Le 15 décembre 2012, le système permettant de trancher les demandes d’asile présentées au Canada a subi des changements importants, notamment à la Loi sur l’immigration et la protection des réfugiés, version modifiée par la Loi sur des mesures de réforme équitables concernant les réfugiés et la Loi visant à protéger le système d’immigration du Canada, au nouveau Règlement sur l’immigration et la protection des réfugiés, qui fixe les délais de traitement, et aux nouvelles Règles de la Section de la protection des réfugiés énoncées par le président. Les demandes d’asile qui sont déférées à la SPR depuis le 15 décembre 2012 sont ce que la CISR appelle les « demandes d’asile présentées sous le régime du nouveau système ».

Demandes d’asile présentées sous le régime de l’ancien système

Les demandes d’asile déférées à la CISR avant le 15 décembre 2012 – ce que la CISR appelle les « demandes d’asile faisant partie des anciens cas » – ne sont pas assujetties à toutes les nouvelles exigences. Les demandes d’asile déférées à la CISR depuis le 15 décembre 2012 doivent respecter des délais réglementaires précis pour les audiences, mais ces délais réglementaires ne s’appliquent pas aux demandes d’asile faisant partie des anciens cas. Ainsi, la CISR accorde la priorité à la mise au rôle des demandes d’asile présentées sous le régime du nouveau système. Cela ne veut pas dire pour autant que les demandes d’asile faisant partie des anciens cas seront perdues dans le cadre de ce nouveau système. La CISR continuera à instruire et à trancher autant de demandes d’asile faisant partie des anciens cas que ses ressources le lui permettent. Le 8 mai 2017, le président a annoncé la formation d’une équipe spéciale responsable des anciens cas, qui a un mandat de deux ans pour réduire et éliminer l’arriéré des anciennes demandes d’asile.

Demandes de constat de perte de l’asile et d’annulation de l’asile

Le ministre peut présenter une demande de constat de perte de l’asile à la Section de la protection des réfugiés (SPR) dans l’un des cas suivants, qui sont également énoncés au paragraphe 108(1) de la Loi sur l’immigration et la protection des réfugiés :

  • le demandeur d’asile se réclame de nouveau et volontairement de la protection du pays dont il a la nationalité;
  • le demandeur d’asile recouvre volontairement sa nationalité;
  • le demandeur d’asile acquiert une nouvelle nationalité et il bénéficie maintenant de la protection du pays de sa nouvelle nationalité;
  • le demandeur d’asile retourne volontairement s’établir dans le pays qu’il a quitté et en raison duquel il a demandé l’asile au Canada;
  • les raisons qui ont fait demander l’asile au demandeur d’asile n’existent plus.

Le ministre peut présenter une demande d’annulation de l’asile à la SPR au motif que la décision ayant accueilli la demande d’asile résultait de présentations erronées sur un fait important quant à un objet pertinent, ou de réticence sur ce fait.