Research Program


The Research Program exists to meet the information requirements of those involved in Canada's refugee protection determination process by providing and making publicly available, current, and reliable information related to human rights and to refugee and migration issues, through documentation that supports fair refugee determination.

The primary role of the Research Program is to meet the information needs of the Refugee Protection Division, although its collection of information and the services it offers may also assist other branches and divisions of the Board, as well as other Government of Canada and non-governmental organisations such as the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees.


The Research Program attempts to provide a thorough and objective analysis of a broad range of topics relating to the social, political, economic and human rights conditions in countries of origin of refugee claimants. Information is gathered from a variety of sources, including national and international governmental and non-governmental organizations, human rights monitors, academics, publications and news services. More on Research Methodology

The following online products contain a selection of the Research Program's collection of information on countries of origin:

National Documentation Packages
Contain a selection of documents on human rights, security conditions and other issues that are relevant to the determination of refugee protection claims.

Responses to Information Requests
Responses to focused queries or requests for information that are submitted to the Research Directorate in the course of the refugee protection determination process.

Programme de recherche

Mandat

Le Programme de recherche s'emploie à répondre aux besoins en renseignements des personnes qui sont parties au processus d'octroi de l'asile du Canada. Le Programme de recherche produit et met à la disposition du public des renseignements à jour et fiables sur les droits de la personne et sur les questions relatives aux réfugiés et à la migration en fournissant de la documentation à l'appui d'un processus impartial d'octroi d'asile.

Le Programme de recherche vise principalement à répondre aux besoins en renseignements de la Section de la protection des réfugiés. Cependant, les renseignements et les services du Programme sont également offerts à d’autres directions générales et sections de la CISR, ainsi qu’à d’autres organisations, tant gouvernementales que non gouvernementales, comme le Haut Commissariat des Nations Unies pour les réfugiés.

Produits

Le Programme de recherche a comme objet de fournir une analyse approfondie et objective d'une vaste gamme de sujets, dont la situation sociale, politique, économique et les droits de la personne dans les pays d'origine des demandeurs d'asile. Les renseignements proviennent de diverses sources, y compris d'organisations gouvernementales et non gouvernementales (tant canadiennes qu'étrangères), d'observateurs veillant au respect des droits de la personne, d'universitaires, de publications et de services de presse. Détails : méthodologie de recherche

Les produits en ligne suivants du Programme de recherche contiennent un ensemble de documents d'information sur les pays d'origine :

Cartables nationaux de documentation
Contiennent un ensemble de documents sur les droits de la personne, la sécurité et autres questions qui sont pertinentes au moment de trancher les demandes d'asile.

Réponses aux demandes d'information
Visent à répondre à des demandes ou à des questions précises soumises à la Direction des recherches dans le cadre du processus d'octroi de l'asile.