Legacy Claims

Legacy Task Force

The Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada (IRB) has formed a Legacy Task Force which will provide dedicated support to the substantive elimination of its backlog of legacy claims in two years. The Task Force’s focus on legacy claims will allow the Refugee Protection Division to continue to address the new system caseload, which is subject to regulated time limits.

On June 20, 2017, World Refugee Day, the IRB Issued a news release and produced a Youtube video asking refugees who made a claim to the IRB before December 15, 2012 to contact the IRB and update their information on the Intention to Proceed Form as needed. Contact the Legacy Office with questions at 1-833-534-2292.

The IRB recognizes the challenges facing legacy claimants waiting in the backlog for several years that is the reason that we have worked hard to find existing internal resources (in the absence of additional funding) and make it a priority to substantively eliminate the legacy cases within two years.

Legacy Claims – Refugee Claims Referred to the IRB before December 15, 2012

Refugee claims referred to the IRB before December 15, 2012– are what the IRB calls "Legacy claims". Although most of these claims were heard before the new refugee determination system took effect on December 15, 2012, there are some claims that have not yet been heard.

Updating Information and Intention to Proceed

Legacy claimants will be contacted at their address on record with the IRB to inquire about their intention to proceed with their claim and to provide the claimant an opportunity to update their information with the IRB. If you wish to be contacted regarding a hearing date now you may do so by completing the Intention to Proceed Form and following the instructions for forwarding it to your region, Montreal, Toronto or Vancouver.

Notice of Withdrawal

There may be reasons why you no longer wish to claim refugee protection in Canada. If you do not wish to proceed with your claim you may complete a Withdrawal Notice and follow the instructions for forwarding it to your region, Montreal, Toronto or Vancouver.

Ready Tours for Refugee Claimants

The Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada (IRB) collaborates with several non-governmental organizations (NGO) to help refugee claimants prepare for their upcoming hearings through Ready Tours.

These tours are free of charge and are held in our Vancouver, Toronto and Montreal offices to inform refugee claimants about:

  • How to prepare for their upcoming hearing
  • What will take place at the hearingcfdf
  • Who will participate in the hearing
  • Mandatory deadlines

For more information, please contact the NGO who is organizing the Ready Tours in your region.

Additional Information

  • Legacy claimants will continue to use the Personal Information Form (PIF)
  • You should review the information found in the National Documentation Package which pertains to your claim.
  • you will be required to attend a hearing to explain your circumstances and tell your story.
  • You must always inform yourself of and respect your obligations in relation to the IRB.
  • The RPD member will decide whether or not you should be granted protected person status in Canada.
  • You have a right to be represented by counsel in your proceeding before the RPD at your own expense

List of Legal aid offices

New Policy Instruments

Legacy claims are subject to all Chairpersons' Guidelines and other policy instruments that apply to the RPD, such as the recently updated Guideline 7 and Guideline 8.

Appealing a Decision

Decisions on legacy claims are subject to judicial review with leave by the Federal Court of Canada.

References

Frequently Asked Questions

Anciennes demandes d'asile

Équipe spéciale responsable des anciens cas

La Commission de l’immigration et du statut de réfugié du Canada (CISR) a créé une équipe spéciale responsable des anciens cas, laquelle se consacrera pendant deux ans à l’élimination de l’arriéré relatif aux anciennes demandes d’asile. L’équipe spéciale permettra ainsi à la Section de la protection des réfugiés (SPR) de continuer de s’occuper des demandes d’asile présentées dans le cadre du nouveau système, qui sont assujetties à des délais prévus par la loi.

Le 20 juin 2017, dans le cadre de la Journée mondiale des réfugiés, la CISR a publié un communiqué de presse et a produit une vidéo sur YouTube demandant aux réfugiés qui ont présenté une demande d’asile à la CISR avant le 15 décembre 2012 de communiquer avec la CISR et de mettre à jour les renseignements les concernant sur ce formulaire. Pour toute question, veuillez contacter l’équipe responsable des anciens cas au numéro 1-833-534-2292.

La CISR est consciente des problèmes auxquels sont confrontés les demandeurs d’asile qui attendent le traitement de leur demande d’asile depuis plusieurs années. C’est la raison pour laquelle la CISR travaille diligemment (en l’absence de financement additionnel) pour trouver des ressources internes existantes et qu’elle accorde une priorité à l’élimination progressive de l’arriéré des anciens cas d’ici deux ans.

Anciennes demandes d’asile déférées à la CISR avant le 15 décembre 2012

La CISR appelle « anciennes demandes d’asile » les demandes d’asile déférées à la CISR avant le 15 décembre 2012. Même si la plupart de ces demandes d’asile ont été instruites avant l’entrée en vigueur du nouveau système d’octroi de l’asile le 15 décembre 2012, certaines n’ont pas encore été instruites.

Mise à jour de l’information et intention de poursuivre le traitement

La CISR communiquera, à l’adresse inscrite au dossier, avec les demandeurs d’asile dont la demande d’asile fait partie des anciens cas pour savoir s’ils ont l’intention de poursuivre le traitement de leur demande d’asile et leur permettre de mettre à jour les renseignements les concernant. Si vous souhaitez que l’on communique avec vous concernant une date d’audience, vous pouvez remplir le formulaire Intention de poursuivre le traitement et suivre les instructions afin de le transmettre à votre bureau régional (Montréal, Toronto ou Vancouver).

Avis de retrait

Il est possible que vous ne souhaitiez plus demander l’asile au Canada. Le cas échéant, vous pouvez remplir un avis de retrait et suivre les instructions afin de le transmettre à votre bureau régional (Montréal, Toronto ou Vancouver).

Visites organisées dans le cadre du programme Ready à l’intention des demandeurs d’asile

La CISR collabore avec plusieurs organisations non gouvernementales (ONG) afin d’aider les demandeurs d’asile à se préparer pour leur audience à venir au moyen de visites organisées dans le cadre du programme Ready.

Ces visites, qui sont gratuites, ont lieu dans nos bureaux de Vancouver (en anglais seulement), Toronto (en anglais seulement) et Montréal et visent à informer les demandeurs d’asile concernant les éléments suivants :

  • Manière de se préparer pour l’audience à venir
  • Déroulement de l’audience
  • Personnes qui participeront à l’audience
  • Délais obligatoires

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec l’ONG responsable de ces visites à votre bureau régional.

Renseignements supplémentaires

  • Les demandeurs d’asile dont la demande d’asile fait partie des anciens cas continueront à utiliser le Formulaire de renseignements personnels (FRP).
  • Vous devriez examiner l’information figurant dans le cartable national de documentation qui se rapporte à votre demande d’asile.
  • Vous devrez participer à une audience pour expliquer votre situation et raconter votre histoire.
  • Vous devez connaître et respecter vos obligations à l’égard de la Commission de l’immigration et du statut de réfugié du Canada.
  • Le commissaire de la Section de la protection des réfugiés (SPR) établira si l’on doit vous accorder ou non la qualité de personne à protéger au Canada.
  • Vous avez le droit d’être représenté par un conseil, à vos frais, pendant votre audience devant la SPR.

Nouveaux instruments de politique

Les anciennes demandes d’asile sont assujetties à toutes les Directives du président et aux autres instruments de politique applicables à la Section de la protection des réfugiés, tels que les Directives no 7 et Directives no 8, récemment révisées.

Appel d’une décision

Les décisions relatives aux anciennes demandes d’asile peuvent faire l’objet d’un contrôle judiciaire avec l’autorisation de la Cour fédérale du Canada.

Références

Foire aux questions