Admissibility Hearing Process

At the request of the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA), foreign nationals or permanent residents who are believed to have contravened the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act (IRPA) appear before the Immigration Division (ID) of the Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada (IRB) for admissibility hearings. (In a limited number of cases, Citizenship and Immigration Canada (CIC) may also request an admissibility hearing.)

A person may not be able to enter or remain in Canada if the ID determines that he or she:

  • has failed in some way to comply with IRPA
  • is a security threat
  • has violated human or international rights
  • has been involved in crime or organized crime
  • has engaged in misrepresentation, such as claiming a false identity
  • has a health condition (in some cases)
  • does not have enough money to support him or herself, or
  • is accompanying an inadmissible family member

In some cases, the CBSA has the power to issue removal orders directly; that is, to send the person out of Canada, without requesting an admissibility hearing.

When the CBSA requests an admissibility hearing, it also sends the IRB a report. The report explains why it believes the person should not be allowed to enter or remain in Canada.

A member (decision-maker) will hear the review according to the IRB tribunal process. The process is adversarial. There are two opposing parties: the person believed to be inadmissible and Minister's counsel for the CBSA (or for CIC). The admissibility hearing process is also public, so media or members of the public may attend or report on the proceedings

Minister's counsel will say why the person should not be allowed to enter or remain in Canada. The person, or his or her counsel, will respond. After considering all the evidence, the member makes a decision and then issues an order. The order either requires the person to leave Canada or allows the person to enter or remain in Canada. Terms and conditions may be imposed. If the person was in detention, the member may order the person to remain in detention if he or she believes that the reasons for the original detention still stand.

In some cases, the person may be able to appeal the removal order to the Immigration Appeal Division (IAD) of the IRB. In some cases, the person may be able to seek permission, or leave, of the Federal Court of Canada for a judicial review of the IRB's decision. Minister's counsel may also seek leave for judicial review.

Chart: Admissibility Hearing Process 

[Alternate format]

The image illustrates a graph.

  • Person tries to enter, or is in Canada, and is considered inadmissible by the CBSA or CIC.
  • Case is then referred to IRB - ID for an admissibility hearing.
  • Person appears before an ID member for an admissibility hearing.
    There are two possible outcomes:
    • Person is allowed to enter or remain in Canada,
      or
    • IRB - ID issues removal order.

Processus d'enquête

À la demande de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC), les étrangers ou les résidents permanents dont on pense qu'ils ont enfreint la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés (LIPR) font l'objet d'une enquête de la Section de l'immigration (SI) de la Commission de l'immigration et du statut de réfugié du Canada (CISR). (Dans un nombre limité de cas, Citoyenneté et immigration Canada (CIC) peut également demander une enquête).

Il est possible qu'une personne ne puisse pas entrer ou séjourner au Canada si la SI détermine qu'elle :

  • a contrevenu à la LIPR
  • représente une menace pour la sécurité
  • a violé des droits humains ou des droits internationaux
  • a commis un crime ou participé au crime organisé
  • a fait de fausses déclarations, par exemple en utilisant une fausse identité
  • a des problèmes de santé (dans certains cas)
  • n'a pas suffisamment d'argent pour subvenir à ses besoins
  • accompagne un membre de sa famille qui est interdit de territoire

Dans certains cas, l'ASFC a le pouvoir de prendre des mesures de renvoi, c'est-à-dire de renvoyer la personne du Canada, sans demander d'enquête.

Lorsque l'ASFC demande une enquête, elle remet également un rapport à la CISR. Ce rapport explique pourquoi elle pense que la personne ne devrait pas être autorisée à entrer ou à séjourner au Canada.

Un commissaire (décideur) examine le cas selon le processus du tribunal de la CISR. Le processus est de nature contradictoire, c'est-à-dire qu'il y a deux parties adverses : la personne dont on a raison de penser qu'elle est interdite de territoire et le conseil du ministre de l'ASFC (ou de CIC). L'enquête est publique, les médias et le grand public peuvent donc y assister et rendre compte de l'affaire.

Le conseil du ministre expliquera pourquoi la personne ne devrait pas être autorisée à entrer ou à séjourner au Canada. La personne, ou son conseil, pourra répondre. Après avoir examiné tous les éléments de preuve, le commissaire rend une décision et rend ensuite une ordonnance. Il peut prendre une mesure ordonnant à la personne de quitter le Canada, ou l'autoriser à entrer ou à séjourner au Canada. Il pourra également  imposer des conditions. Si la personne était en détention, le commissaire peut également ordonner qu'elle soit maintenue en détention s'il pense que les motifs pour lesquels elle a été mise détention sont toujours valables.

Dans certains cas, une personne peut interjeter appel de la mesure de renvoi auprès de la Section d'appel de l'immigration (SAI) de la CISR. Elle peut, dans certains cas, présenter à la Cour fédérale du Canada une demande d'autorisation de contrôle judiciaire de la décision de la CISR. Le conseil du ministre peut également demander une autorisation de contrôle judiciaire.

Diagramme : Processus d'enquête 

[Format alternatif]

L'image illustre un diagramme.

  • Une personne cherche à entrer au Canada ou est déjà au pays et est considérée interdite de territoire par l'ASFC ou CIC.
  • Le cas est alors déféré à la SI de la CISR pour enquête.
  • La personne comparaît devant un commissaire de la SI pour enquête.
    Deux résultats sont possibles :
    • La personne a l'autorisation d'entrer au Canada ou d'y séjourner,
      ou
    • La SI de la CISR prend une mesure de renvoi.