Policy on the Expedited Processing of Refugee Claims by the Refugee Protection Division

Effective Date: September 18, 2015

I. PURPOSE

The Immigration and Refugee Protection ActNote 1 (IRPA) provides that the Refugee Protection Division (RPD or the Division) of the Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada (IRB) may allow a claim for refugee protection without a hearing, in certain situations.

This policy establishes a process whereby claims made by claimants who are nationals of certain countries may be determined to be a Convention refugee or a person in need of protection without a hearing. This process is commonly known as the expedited process.The expedited process is a method the RPD uses to resolve refugee claims fairly and efficiently.

II. BACKGROUND

The IRB has been expediting the processing of refugee claims since the early 1990s. A formal policy on expedited proceedings was first issued in 2001, and subsequently updated in 2005.Note 2

In December 2012, refugee reform provisions that amended the IRPA came into force. These amendments significantly modified the refugee determination process at the IRB. Specifically, the amendments allowed for regulatory time limits to be implemented which require refugee claims be heard within 30, 45, or 60 days, with limited exceptions.Note 3 Prior to the 2012 reforms, refugee claim hearings were not subject to time limits.

With the refugee reforms of 2012, the former expedited process was discontinued, in order to implement the reforms, including meeting the regulatory time limits for holding refugee hearings. The RPD is now implementing the expedited process with the necessary modifications to reflect the realities of the new refugee determination process.

III. LEGISLATIVE AUTHORITY

Paragraph 170(f) of the IRPANote 4 provides that the RPD may allow a claim for refugee protection without a hearing, unless the Minister has notified the Division of the Minister’s intention to intervene within the time limit set out in the Refugee Protection Division RulesNote 5 (RPD Rules or the rules). That time limit (“no later than 10 days after the day on which the Minister receives the Basis of Claim Form”) is set out in RPD Rule 23.Note 6

Further, subsection 162(2) of the IRPA directs that “Each Division shall deal with all proceedings before it as informally and quickly as the circumstances and the considerations of fairness and natural justice permit.”

Therefore, the Chairperson has established this policy persuant to his authority under paragraphs 159(1)(a), (f) and (g) of the IRPA.

IV. PRINCIPLES

The following principles form the foundation for this policy:

  1. Member Independence: Every refugee claim, including those decided under this policy, is decided by an independent RPD member.The expedited process is principally a case management tool used to provide efficient administrative justice. It does not influence the adjudication of the merits of a claim for refugee protection.  It is the responsibility of the member to decide whether to accept a claim without a hearing based solely on the member’s review of the file and his or her opinion on the merits of the individual claim.
  2. Opportunity for parties to be heard: Parties must be given a reasonable opportunity to be heard. Therefore, where a member determines that a claim cannot be accepted through the expedited process without a hearing, the claimant will have an opportunity to present his or her case at a hearing. The fact that the claim was initially selected for the expedited process, but was ultimately sent for a hearing, does not impact the adjudication of the merits of the claim.

    The Minister will be given notice where a claim is streamed into the expedited process. As required by paragraph 170(f) of the IRPA and RPD Rule 23, if the Minister intervenes within the time limit set out in Rule 23, the claim is not eligible to be decided under this policy. If the Minister intervenes after the time limit set out in Rule 23, the claim will not be decided through this expedited process where the Notice of Intervention provided under RPD Rule 29 indicates the Minister’s intention to intervene in person.

  3. System Integrity: Allowing claims without a hearing pursuant to paragraph 170(f) of the IRPA is the exception at the RPD, and will be carried out only in appropriate claims identified under this policy. Therefore, only claims streamed into the expedited process under this policy will be decided without a hearing, pursuant to paragraph 170(f) of the IRPA.Note 7 Members will decide all other claims following a hearing, as required under paragraph 170(b) of the IRPA.

    Further, members will not decide claims without a hearing under this policy unless:

    • there are no issues that should be brought to the attention of the Minister;
    • there are no issues related to the claimant’s identity which require further examination;
    • there are no serious credibility issues that arise from the documents in the file; and
    • the information given by the claimant is consistent with information about conditions in their country of nationality and establishes that the claimant is a Convention refugee or a person in need of protection.
  4. Public Safety: All refugee claimants undergo security checks, referred to as front-end security screening (FESS). Security screening is conducted by the Canada Border Services Agency in partnership with the Canadian Security Intelligence Service. In the interest of public security, and in conformity with the Chairperson’s Instructions Governing the Management of Refugee Protection Claims Awaiting Front-end Security Screening,Note 8 no claim will be accepted under this policy before the IRB receives confirmation that security screening has been completed.

V. APPLICATION

Part 1: Designation of countries as being suitable for consideration under the expedited process

Taking into consideration the RPD’s operational capacity, the Deputy Chairperson, RPD, may designate countries as being suitable for consideration under this policy.  The designation will be based on whether or not claims from the country are appropriate for consideration without a hearing, and may include such factors as:

  1. the recent acceptance rate for claims from the country;
  2. the fact that claims from the country do not generally involve complex issues; and
  3. the volume of cases heard by the RPD involving the country.

The Deputy Chairperson may remove a country from the list of countries to be processed under this policy, having regard to the considerations set out above.

Once a country is designated or is removed from consideration, the Division will provide notice through the IRB website or through any other means it deems appropriate to facilitate public access to it.

Part 2: Processing claims via the expedited process

Following designation of a country as being suitable for consideration under the expedited process, individual claims will be processed in the following manner:

  1. The RPD registry will identify whether a claim relates to a claimant who is a national of a country designated under this policy or relates to a stateless claimant whose country of former habitual residence is designated under this policy. If so, the claim is eligible to be processed under this policy unless:
    • the claimant is also a national of another country or has another country of former habitual residence;
    • the claim is joined with that of another claimant who is not a national of a country designated under this policy;
    • the Minister has been notified of a possibility of an integrity issue, exclusion, inadmissibility, or ineligibility pursuant to RPD Rules 26, 27, or 28; or
    • the Minister has indicated an intention to intervene in person.
    • If any of the circumstances set out above arise after the claim has been streamed into the expedited process, the claim will no longer be eligible to be decided under this policy and will proceed to a regular hearing.
  2. Once the claim has been identified as being eligible to be processed under this policy, the registry will send a letter to the claimant, or to the claimant’s counsel of record, stating that the claim has been selected for processing under this policy. The claimant will be asked to provide supporting documents, if desired. This letter will be copied to the Minister such that they are informed that the claim has been selected for processing under this policy, and a decision may be rendered without a hearing.
  3. The claimant will also be provided a confirmation form. The form will be signed by the claimant or his or her counsel of record certifying that the claimant does not wish to provide further documents for the purpose of the expedited process. This confirmation is without prejudice to providing further documents at any time before a final decision is reached, subject to any legislative requirements
  4. Following receipt of the confirmation form, the file will be assigned to a member.
  5. Subject to any legislative limitations or other considerations set out in this policy, a member may then accept the claim without a hearing based on the evidence in the file, if the member determines it is appropriate to do so. Written reasons will be issued in support of the decision, as required by the IRPA and the RPD Rules. If the member determines that it is not appropriate to make a positive decision based on the evidence in the file, the claim will proceed to its scheduled hearing, or if no hearing is then scheduled, one will be scheduled.
  6. The timeliness with which the RPD will be able to notify the claimant of a decision will depend, in part, on how quickly the claimant provides evidence to the RPD in support of his or her claim and on how quickly confirmation of security screening is received.
  7. The RPD will notify the claimant as soon as practicable when a decision has been rendered. Claimants are expected to appear at a scheduled hearing if they have not received notice that a decision has been made under this policy.

VI. IMPLEMENTATION

The Deputy Chairperson of the RPD is responsible for the implementation of this policy.

VII.  Monitoring

Program monitoring and evaluation of this policy will be carried out by the Deputy Chairperson of the RPD with the support of the Division and the Policy, Planning and Research Branch.

VIII. ENQUIRIES

For information contact:

Office of the Deputy Chairperson, Refugee Protection Division
Canada Building (Minto Place)
344 Slater Street, 11th Floor
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0K1

Fax: 613-670-6852

Available in English and French on the IRB's website.

IX. EFFECTIVE DATE

This policy is effective on the date it is signed.

X. APPROVAL

Mario Dion
Chairperson, IRB
Date

Notes

Note 1

Immigration and Refugee Protection Act, S.C. 2001, c. 27.

Return to note 1 referrer

Note 2

Fast Track Policy: Expedited Process, effective date March 14, 2005.

Return to note 2 referrer

Note 3

Immigration and Refugee Protection Regulations, SOR/2002-227, s. 159.9.

Return to note 3 referrer

Note 4
170. The Refugee Protection Division, in any proceeding before it,

 

(b) must hold a hearing;

(f) may, despite paragraph (b), allow a claim for refugee protection without a hearing, if the Minister has not notified the Division, within the period set out in the rules of the Board, of the Minister’s intention to intervene;

Return to note 4 referrer

Note 5

Refugee Protection Division Rules, SOR/2012-256.

Return to note 5 referrer

Note 6
23. For the purpose of paragraph 170(f) of the Act, the period during which the Minister must notify the Division of the Minister’s intention to intervene is no later than 10 days after the day on which the Minister receives the Basis of Claim Form.

Return to note 6 referrer

Note 7

Nothing in this policy, however, limits the ability of the Chairperson or the Deputy Chairperson of the RPD from making future policies respecting the use of paragraph 170(f) of the IRPA.

Return to note 7 referrer

Note 8

Chairperson’s Instructions Governing the Management of Refugee Protection Claims Awaiting Front-end Security Screening, December 15, 2012.

Return to note 8 referrer

Politique sur le traitement accéléré des demandes d'asile par la Section de la protection des réfugiés

Mise en vigueur: 18 septembre, 2015

I. OBJET

La Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiésNote 1 (LIPR) prévoit que la Section de la protection des réfugiés (SPR ou la Section) de la Commission de l'immigration et du statut de réfugié du Canada (CISR) peut accueillir une demande d'asile sans tenir d'audience, dans certaines circonstances.

La présente politique établit un processus par lequel il peut être établi, sans qu'une audience soit tenue, que les demandeurs d'asile qui sont des ressortissants de certains pays ont qualité de réfugié au sens de la Convention ou celle de personne à protéger. Ce processus est connu sous le nom de processus accéléré. Le processus accéléré est une méthode que la SPR utilise pour traiter les demandes d'asile de manière juste et efficace.

II. CONTEXTE

La CISR accélère le traitement des demandes d'asile depuis le début des années 1990. Une politique officielle sur les procédures accélérées a initialement été publiée en 2001, puis mise à jour en 2005Note 2.

En décembre 2012, les dispositions liées à la réforme du système de protection des réfugiés qui ont modifié la LIPR sont entrées en vigueur. Ces modifications ont eu une incidence majeure sur le processus d'octroi de l'asile à la CISR. Plus précisément, les modifications prévoyaient des délais réglementaires à mettre en œuvre, qui exigent que les demandes d'asile soient instruites dans les 30, 45 ou 60 jours, à quelques rares exceptionsNote 3. Avant les réformes de 2012, aucune date limite ne s'appliquait à la tenue des audiences relatives aux demandes d'asile.

Avec la réforme du système de protection des réfugiés de 2012, l'ancien processus accéléré a été abandonné afin de mettre en œuvre les modifications, y compris les délais réglementaires pour la tenue des audiences relatives aux demandes d'asile. La SPR réintroduit maintenant le processus accéléré avec les adaptations nécessaires pour tenir compte des réalités du nouveau processus d'octroi de l'asile.

III. CADRE JURIDIQUE

L'alinéa 170f) de la LIPRNote 4 prévoit que la SPR peut accueillir une demande d'asile sans qu'une audience soit tenue si le ministre ne l'a pas avisé de son intention d'intervenir dans le délai prévu par les Règles de la Section de la protection des réfugiésNote 5 (Règles de la SPR). Ce délai (« au plus dix jours après la date à laquelle il a reçu le Formulaire de fondement de la demande d'asile ») est défini à la règle 23 des Règles de la SPRNote 6.

En outre, le paragraphe 162(2) de la LIPR prévoit ce qui suit : « Chacune des sections fonctionne, dans la mesure où les circonstances et les considérations d'équité et de justice naturelle le permettent, sans formalisme et avec célérité. »

Par conséquent, le président a établi la présente politique selon le pouvoir qui lui a été conféré au titre des alinéas 159(1)a), 159(1)f) et 159(1)g) de la LIPR.

IV. PRINCIPES

Les principes suivants constituent la pierre angulaire de la présente politique :

  1. Indépendance des commissaires : Chaque demande d'asile, y compris celles qui sont tranchées en vertu de la présente politique, fait l'objet d'une décision par un commissaire indépendant. Le processus accéléré est principalement un outil de gestion des cas utilisé pour favoriser une justice administrative efficace. Il est sans incidence sur la décision relative au fond d'une demande d'asile. Il incombe au commissaire de décider d'accueillir ou non une demande d'asile sans tenir d'audience, en fonction seulement de son examen du dossier et de son opinion relative au bien fondé de la demande d'asile en question.
  2. Possibilité pour les parties d'être entendues : Les parties doivent se voir accorder une possibilité raisonnable de présenter leurs arguments. Par conséquent, si un commissaire conclut qu'une demande d'asile ne peut être accueillie sans tenir d'audience, par application du processus accéléré, le demandeur d'asile aura l'occasion de présenter des arguments dans le cadre d'une audience. Le fait que la demande d'asile a d'abord été orientée vers le processus accéléré, mais qu'elle fera finalement l'objet d'une audience, est sans incidence sur la décision qui sera rendue sur le fond.

    Le ministre sera avisé des demandes d'asile qui sont orientées vers le processus accéléré. Comme l'exigent l'alinéa 170f) de la LIPR et l'article 23 des Règles de la SPR, si le ministre intervient dans le délai fixé à la règle 23 des Règles de la SPR, la demande d'asile ne peut faire l'objet d'une décision en vertu de la présente politique. Si le ministre intervient après le délai fixé à la règle 23 des Règles de la SPR, la demande d'asile ne sera pas tranchée au moyen du processus accéléré si l'avis d'intervention prévu à la règle 29 des Règles de la SPR indique que le ministre a l'intention d'intervenir en personne.

  3. Intégrité du système : Le fait d'accueillir des demandes d'asile sans tenir d'audience en vertu de l'alinéa 170f) de la LIPR représente l'exception à la SPR et ne se fera qu'à l'égard des demandes d'asiles admissibles selon la présente politique. Par conséquent, seules les demandes d'asile orientées vers le processus accéléré suivant la présente politique pourront faire l'objet d'une décision sans tenir d'audience, en vertu de l'alinéa 170f) de la LIPRNote 7. Les commissaires rendront des décisions à l'égard de toutes les autres demandes d'asile à l'issue d'une audience, comme l'exige l'alinéa 170b) de la LIPR.

    En outre, les conditions suivantes doivent être respectées pour qu'un commissaire puisse trancher une demande d'asile sans tenir d'audience en vertu de la présente politique :

    • aucun point litigieux ne doit être porté à l'attention du ministre;
    • aucun point litigieux lié à l'identité du demandeur d'asile ne nécessite un examen plus approfondi;
    • aucune question grave de crédibilité ne se dégage des documents au dossier;
    • les renseignements que le demandeur d'asile a fournis sont compatibles avec les renseignements sur les conditions de son pays de nationalité et démontrent qu'il a qualité de réfugié au sens de la Convention ou celle de personne à protéger.
  4. Sécurité publique : Tous les demandeurs d'asile se soumettent à des vérifications de sécurité (contrôle de sécurité préliminaire). Les contrôles de sécurité sont exécutés par l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC), en collaboration avec le Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité (SCRS). Dans l'intérêt de la sécurité publique, et en conformité avec les instructions du président intitulées Instructions régissant la gestion des demandes d'asile en attente du contrôle de sécurité préliminaireNote 8, aucune demande d'asile ne sera acceptée en vertu de la présente politique avant que la CISR ne reçoive une confirmation que le contrôle de sécurité a été réalisé.

V. APPLICATION

Partie 1: Désignation de pays pouvant répondre aux conditions du processus accéléré

En prenant en considération la capacité opérationnelle de la SPR, le vice président de la SPR peut désigner certains pays comme des pays pouvant répondre aux conditions de la présente politique. Avant de désigner un pays, on évaluera s'il serait approprié de rendre des décisions concernant les demandes d'asile présentées par ses ressortissants sans tenir d'audience. Voici des exemples de facteurs à prendre en considération à cet égard :

  1. le taux d'acceptation récent des demandes d'asile à l'égard du pays;
  2. le fait que les demandes d'asile à l'égard du pays ne comportent généralement pas de problèmes complexes;
  3. le volume de cas instruits par la SPR mettant en cause ce pays.

Le vice président peut retirer un pays de la liste des pays pour le traitement en vertu de cette politique, sur le fondement des considérations ci dessus.

Une fois un pays désigné ou retiré de la liste, la Section émettra un avis sur le site Web de la CISR ou au moyen de tout autre média qu'elle jugera pertinent afin de faciliter la diffusion de l'information au public.

Partie 2: Traitement des demandes d'asile dans le cadre du processus accéléré

Après la désignation d'un pays pouvant répondre aux conditions du processus accéléré, les demandes d'asile individuelles seront traitées de la manière suivante :

  1. Le Greffe de la SPR déterminera si la demande d'asile concerne un ressortissant d'un pays désigné en vertu de la présente politique ou un apatride dont le pays de résidence habituelle antérieure est désigné en vertu de la présente politique. Dans l'affirmative, la demande d'asile est admissible au traitement dans le cadre de cette politique, à moins que :
    • le demandeur d'asile soit également ressortissant d'un autre pays ou ait un autre pays de résidence habituelle antérieure;
    • la demande d'asile soit jointe à celle d'un autre demandeur d'asile qui n'est pas ressortissant d'un pays désigné en vertu de la présente politique;
    • le ministre ait été avisé de la possibilité d'un problème d'intégrité, d'exclusion, d'interdiction de territoire ou d'irrecevabilité au titre des règles 26, 27 ou 28 des Règles de la SPR;
    • le ministre ait indiqué son intention d'intervenir en personne.
    • Si l'une des circonstances ci dessus est constatée après que la demande d'asile est orientée vers le processus accéléré, celle ci ne sera plus admissible au traitement en vertu de cette politique et fera l'objet d'une audience régulière.
  2. Une fois que la demande d'asile a été désignée comme étant admissible au traitement en vertu de cette politique, le Greffe envoie une lettre au demandeur d'asile ou au conseil inscrit à son dossier pour signaler que la demande a été sélectionnée aux fins de traitement dans le cadre du processus accéléré. On demandera au demandeur d'asile s'il souhaite présenter des documents à l'appui. Une copie de cette lettre sera envoyée au ministre pour qu'il soit informé de la sélection de la demande d'asile aux fins de traitement en vertu de la présente politique et du fait qu'une décision pourrait être rendue sans tenir d'audience.
  3. Un formulaire de confirmation sera également fourni au demandeur d'asile. Le formulaire doit être signé par le demandeur d'asile ou le conseil inscrit à son dossier afin d'attester que le demandeur d'asile ne souhaite pas fournir d'autres documents pour les besoins du processus accéléré. Cette confirmation n'empêche pas le demandeur d'asile de fournir d'autres documents à tout moment avant qu'une décision finale soit rendue, sous réserve des exigences législatives applicables.
  4. Après la réception du formulaire de confirmation, le dossier sera attribué à un commissaire.
  5. Sous réserve des restrictions législatives ou d'autres considérations énoncées dans la présente politique, un commissaire peut alors accueillir la demande d'asile sans tenir d'audience, sur le fondement des éléments au dossier, s'il conclut qu'une telle approche est indiquée. Des motifs écrits seront fournis à l'appui de la décision, conformément aux dispositions de la LIPR et des Règles de la SPR. Si le commissaire conclut qu'il ne convient pas de rendre une décision favorable en fonction de la preuve au dossier, la demande d'asile sera instruite lors de l'audience prévue ou, si aucune audience n'a été prévue, une date sera fixée.
  6. La célérité avec laquelle la SPR sera en mesure d'aviser le demandeur d'asile d'une décision dépendra, en partie, de la rapidité avec laquelle ce dernier fournit à la SPR des éléments de preuve à l'appui de sa demande d'asile, et de la rapidité avec laquelle sera reçue la confirmation du contrôle de sécurité.
  7. La SPR avisera le demandeur d'asile dans les plus brefs délais possibles si une décision est rendue. Les demandeurs d'asile doivent se présenter à l'audience prévue s'ils n'ont pas reçu d'avis selon lequel une décision a été rendue en vertu de la présente politique.

VI. MISE EN ŒUVRE

Il incombe au vice président de la SPR de mettre en œuvre la présente politique.

VII.  SURVEILLANCE

Le vice-président de la SPR se chargera de la surveillance du programme et de l'évaluation de la présente politique, en collaboration avec la Direction générale des politiques, de la planification et des recherches.

VIII. DEMANDES DE RENSEIGNEMENTS

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Bureau du vice président de la Section de la protection des réfugiés
Place Minto — Édifice Canada
344, rue Slater, 11e étage
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0K1

Télécopieur : 613 670 6852

Accessible en français et en anglais sur le site Web de la CISR.

IX. DATE D'ENTRÉE EN VIGUEUR

Cette politique entre en vigueur à la date de sa signature.

X. APPROBATION

Mario Dion
Président, CISR
Date

Notes

Note 1

Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés (LIPR), L.C. 2001, chap. 27.

Retour à la référence de la note 1

Note 2

Politique de la voie rapide : processus accéléré, date d'entrée en vigueur : 14 mars 2005.

Retour à la référence de la note 2

Note 3

Règlement sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés, DORS/2002-227, art. 159.9.

Retour à la référence de la note 3

Note 4
170. Dans toute affaire dont elle est saisie, la Section de la protection des réfugiés
[…]
b) dispose de celle-ci par la tenue d'une audience;
[…]
f) peut accueillir la demande d'asile sans qu'une audience soit tenue si le ministre ne lui a pas, dans le délai prévu par les règles, donné avis de son intention d'intervenir;

Retour à la référence de la note 4

Note 5

Règles de la Section de la protection des réfugiés, DORS/2012-256

Retour à la référence de la note 5

Note 6
23. Pour l'application de l'alinéa 170f) de la Loi, le délai dont dispose le ministre pour donner à la Section un avis de son intention d'intervenir est d'au plus dix jours après la date à laquelle il a reçu le Formulaire de fondement de la demande d'asile.

Retour à la référence de la note 6

Note 7

Cependant, rien dans cette politique ne limite la capacité du président ou du vice-président de la Section de la protection des réfugiés d'élaborer de nouvelles politiques concernant l'application de l'alinéa 170f) de la LIPR.

Retour à la référence de la note 7

Note 8

Instructions du président intitulées Instructions régissant la gestion des demandes d'asile en attente du contrôle de sécurité préliminaire, 15 décembre 2012.

Retour à la référence de la note 8