Policies

Policies are formal statements that explain the purpose and the mechanics of operational initiatives at the Board. A policy set out specific responsibilities for action by decision-makers and personnel supporting the adjudicative process. Policies are flexible instruments, and the degree to which they are mandatory varies with the content of the policy. They often contain elements that are mandatory, but may also provide general guidance or define areas in which the exercise of discretion is required.

All Tribunals

Policy on the Use of Social Media by Authorized Individuals at the Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada
This policy serves to provide guidance to authorized individuals on the acceptable use of social media at the Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada.
(March 2015 | Updated May 2016)

Policy on Disclosing Information Regarding the Conduct of Authorized Representatives to Regulatory Bodies
This policy sets out a predictable and transparent approach for IRB personnel to follow when disclosing information about the conduct of authorized representatives to their regulatory bodies.
(September 2015)

Reasons Review Policy
The purpose of the Reasons Review Policy is to provide for transparency and consistency with respect to the policy and procedures regarding reasons review at the Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada.
(August 1997 | Updated December 2014)

Policy for Handling IRB Complaints Regarding Unauthorized, Paid Representatives
The purpose of this policy is to set out a uniform approach for handling complaints about unauthorized representatives (or counsel) who may, for a fee, be representing, advising or consulting with a person who is the subject of an Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada proceeding.
(September 2011)

Policy on the Use of Chairperson's Guidelines
This policy sets out the framework that guides in which circumstances the exercise of the Chairperson's authority may be carried out and the process for deciding to issue guidelines.
(October 2003)

Policy on Court-Ordered Redeterminations
This policy is re-issued with consequential amendments to bring it in line with the terminology of the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act (IRPA) and Board Rules. The policy standardizes the selection of decision makers when the Federal Court refers a matter back to the IRB for a rehearing and requires priority review of court ordered rehearings by Legal Services.
(June 2003 | Updated December 2013)

Policy on Higher Court Interventions
This policy governs the exercise of the Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada's option to seek leave to intervene in a proceeding before a Higher Court.
(March 2003)

Policy on the Use of Jurisprudential Guides
This policy governs the exercise of the Chairperson's authority to identify a decision as a jurisprudential guide in the Immigration Division, the Immigration Appeal Division and the Refugee Protection Division.
(March 2003)

Security Screening Measures Policy at Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada Controlled Premises
This policy serves to provide a framework for security screening measures at the Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada.
(April 2015)

Refugee Protection Division

Policy on the Expedited Processing of Refugee Claims by the Refugee Protection Division
This policy establishes a process whereby claims made by claimants who are nationals of certain countries may be determined to be a Convention refugee or a person in need of protection without a hearing.
(September 2015)

Designation of Three-Member Panels - RPD Approach
Under the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act, hearings by single member panels of the Refugee Protection Division (RPD) are the norm. However, the RPD also has the authority to have a claim, or an application to vacate or cease refugee protection, heard by three members.
(September 2015)

Policy on Redeterminations Ordered by the Refugee Appeal Division
This policy is being introduced as a result of the coming into force of the refugee reform provisions of the Protecting Canada’s Immigration System Act. The policy standardizes the selection of decision-makers when the Refugee Appeal Division (RAD) refers a matter back to the Refugee Protection Division (RPD) for a redetermination and, it provides a standardized process for determining the content of a RAD-ordered redetermination case file.
(September 2014)

Policy on Country-of-Origin Information Packages in Refugee Protection Claims
The objective of this policy is to ensure that common, nationally issued country-of-origin information (COI) packages are used as the standard country information evidence by the Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada (IRB) across Canada.
(March 2007)

Policy on the Transfer of Files for Hearings by Videoconference (Refugee Protection Division
This policy outlines the principles governing the administrative transfer of files between regions/districts in the Refugee Protection Division and the associated holding of hearings by videoconference. Specifically, this policy sets out the circumstances in which administrative transfers may or may not occur.
(June 2004)

Policy on the Treatment of Unsolicited Information in the Refugee Protection Division
The policy governs the treatment and use of unsolicited information that the IRB receives in respect of proceedings in the Refugee Protection Division.
(October 1998 | Updated June 2003 and February 2015)

Policy on Document Harmonization in Support of Jurisprudential Guides
This policy governs the harmonization of documentary packages once a decision has been identified as a jurisprudential guide.
(May 2003)

Refugee Appeal Division

Designation of Three-Member Panels - Refugee Appeal Division
Under the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act (IRPA), proceedings are normally conducted by a single member of the Refugee Appeal Division (RAD). However, the Chairperson has the authority to constitute a panel composed of three members.
(April 2013)

Immigration Appeal Division

Policy Governing Communication Between Early Resolution Officers and the Parties and Between Early Resolution Officers and Members in the Immigration Appeal Division
The purpose of this policy is primarily to set out an approach governing communication in the Immigration Appeal Division (IAD) when such communication occurs between an early resolution officer (ERO) and the parties or between an ERO and a member in the absence of the parties, concerning cases before the IAD.
(June 2013)

Politiques

La Politique est un énoncé officiel qui explique les objectifs et les rouages des activités opérationnelles à la Commission. Elle peut énoncer les responsabilités particulières des décideurs et du personnel qui appuient le processus décisionnel. La politique est un instrument souple, dont la teneur détermine dans quelle mesure elle est d'application obligatoire. Elle contient souvent des éléments d'application obligatoire, mais peut aussi énoncer des principes généraux ou définir les domaines d'exercice du pouvoir discrétionnaire.

Tous les tribunaux

Politique concernant l'utilisation des médias sociaux par des personnes autorisées à la Commission de l'immigration et du statut de réfugié du Canada

Cette politique vise à server de guide aux personnes autorisées concernant l'utilisation acceptable des médias sociaux à la Commission de l'immigration et du statut de réfugié du Canada.
(mars 2015 | modifié en mai 2016 )

Politique sur la divulgation de renseignements concernant la conduite des représentants autorisés aux organismes de réglementation

Cette politique a pour objet d'établir une méthode prévisible et transparente à adopter par le personnel de la Commission de l'immigration et du statut de réfugié du Canada au moment de divulguer des renseignements sur la conduite des représentants autorisés à leurs organismes de réglementation.
(septembre 2015)

Politique de révision des motifs

La Politique de révision des motifs vise à assurer la transparence et la cohérence en ce qui a trait aux politiques et aux procédures concernant la révision des motifs à la Commission de l’immigration et du statut de réfugié du Canada.
(août 1997 | modifié en décembre 2014)

Politique de traitement des plaintes présentées par la CISR contre les représentants rémunérés non autorisés

La présente politique a pour objet d'établir une méthode uniforme de traitement des plaintes concernant des représentants non autorisés (ou conseils) qui peuvent représenter une personne, la conseiller ou agir comme consultants pour elle, dans toute affaire devant la Commission de l'immigration et du statut de réfugié du Canada (CISR), contre rémunération.
(septembre 2011)

Politique sur l'utilisation des directives du président

Cette politique établit un cadre qui définit les circonstances dans lesquelles le pouvoir du président peut être exercé, ainsi que le processus menant à la décision de donner des directives.
(octobre 2003)

Politique concernant les nouveaux examens sur ordonnance de la cour

La politique est publiée à nouveau avec les modifications corrélatives nécessaires en vue de se conformer à la nouvelle terminologie et aux renvois de la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés (LIPR) et aux Règles de la Commission. La politique vise à uniformiser le processus de sélection des décideurs lorsque la Cour fédérale renvoie une affaire à la CISR pour la tenue d'une nouvelle audience et exige l'examen en priorité par les Services juridiques des cas faisant l'objet d'une nouvelle audience sur ordonnance de la Cour.
(juin 2003 | modifié en décembre 2013)

Politique sur les interventions devant les cours supérieures

Cette politique régit le choix des options de la Commission de l'immigration et du statut de réfugié du Canada (CISR) quand il s'agit de demander l'autorisation d'intervenir dans une affaire portée devant une cour supérieure.
(mars 2003)

Politique sur l'utilisation de guides jurisprudentiels

Cette politique régit l'exercice de l'autorité du président lorsqu'il précise les décisions qui servent de guide jurisprudentiel au sein de la Section de l'immigration, de la Section d'appel de l'immigration et de la Section de la protection des réfugiés.
(mars 2003)

Politique sur les mesures de contrôle de sécurité dans les locaux occupés par la Commission de l’immigration et du statut de réfugié du Canada

Cette politique vise à fournir un cadre pour les mesures de contrôle de sécurité à la Commission de l’immigration et du statut de réfugié du Canada.
(avril 2015)

Section de la protection des réfugiés

Politique sur le processus accéléré pour les demandeurs d'asile par la Section de la protection des réfugiés

Cette politique établit un processus par lequel il peut être établi, sans qu’une audience soit tenue, que les demandeurs d’asile qui sont des ressortissants de certains pays ont qualité de réfugié au sens de la Convention ou celle de personne à protéger.
(septembre 2015) 

Constitution de tribunaux de trois commissaires - Approche de la SPR

La tenue d'audiences de la Section de la protection des réfugiés (SPR) devant un tribunal constitué d'un seul commissaire est devenue la norme. Toutefois, la SPR a également le pouvoir de faire entendre une demande d'asile, ou une demande d'annulation ou de constat de perte d'asile par trois commissaires.
(septembre 2015)

Politique sur les nouveaux examens ordonnées par la Section d'appel des réfugiés

La présente politique découle de l’entrée en vigueur des dispositions liées à la réforme du système de protection des réfugiés prévues dans la Loi visant à protéger le système d’immigration du Canada. La politique a pour objectifs d’uniformiser le processus de sélection des décideurs lorsque la Section d’appel des réfugiés (SAR) renvoie une affaire à la Section de la protection des réfugiés (SPR) et d’offrir un processus normalisé concernant la détermination du contenu du dossier dans le cas d’un nouvel examen sur ordonnance de la SAR.
(septembre 2014)

Politique sur les cartables de renseignements sur les pays d'origine aux fins des demandes d'asile

La présente politique a pour but d'assurer que les cartables de renseignements sur les pays d'origine, uniformisés et diffusés à l'échelle nationale, sont utilisés dans l'ensemble de la Commission de l'immigration et du statut de réfugié du Canada (CISR) comme normes pour la preuve documentaire sur les pays d'origine.
(mars 2007)

Politique sur le transfert de dossiers en prévision de la tenue d'audiences par vidéoconférence (Section de la protection des réfugiés)

Cette politique énonce les principes qui régissent le transfert administratif de dossiers entre les régions ou les districts à la Section de la protection des réfugiés (SPR) et la tenue d'audiences par vidéoconférence. Plus précisément, elle précise les circonstances dans lesquelles le transfert administratif peut ou ne peut pas se faire.
(juin 2004)

Politique sur le traitement des renseignements non sollicités à la Section de la protection des réfugiés

Cette politique comprend les modifications découlant de la nouvelle terminologie de la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés (LIPR). La politique régit le traitement et l'utilisation des renseignements non sollicités que reçoit la Commission de l'immigration et du statut de réfugié du Canada (CISR) en vue des audiences de la Section de la protection des réfugiés SPR.
(octobre 1998 | modifié en juin 2003 et février 2015)

Politique sur l'harmonisation des documents à l'appui des guides jurisprudentiels

Cette politique régit l'harmonisation des trousses documentaires lorsqu'une décision est désignée comme étant un guide jurisprudentiel.
(mai 2003)

Section d'appel des réfugiés

Constitution de tribunaux de trois commissaires - Section d'appel des réfugiés

En vertu de la Loi sur l’immigration et la protection des réfugiés (LIPR), les appels sont normalement présidés par un seul commissaire de la Section d’appel des réfugiés (SAR). Cependant, le président a également le pouvoir de former un tribunal constitué de trois commissaires.
(avril 2013)

Section d'appel de l'immigration

Politique régissant les communications des agents de règlement anticipé de la Section d’appel de l’immigration

La présente politique vise principalement à définir l’approche régissant les communications à la Section d’appel de l’immigration (SAI) qui ont lieu entre un agent de règlement anticipé et les parties, ou entre un agent de règlement anticipé et un commissaire en l’absence des parties et qui se rapportent aux cas dont est saisie la SAI.
(juin 2013 | modifié en juillet 2017)

Liens connexes