Jurisprudential Guides

Jurisprudential Guides are policy instruments that support consistency in adjudicating cases which share essential similarities. A Jurisprudential Guide serves to build a Division’s jurisprudence upon well-reasoned decisions.

Drawing on the common law tradition of precedent and the tribunal tradition of policy-making through adjudication, Jurisprudential Guides articulate policy through the application of the law set out in a decision of the Board to the specific facts of another individual case before a decision-maker. This is to be contrasted with Guidelines, which are general statements, not incorporated in any decision of the Board.

As set out in the Policy on the Use of Jurisprudential Guides (Policy 2003-01, as amended on December 1, 2016), decision-makers are expected to apply Jurisprudential Guides in cases with similar facts or provide reasoned justifications for not doing so.

The Immigration and Refugee Protection Act, in paragraph 159(1)(h), provides statutory authority for the use of Jurisprudential Guides.

Jurisprudential Guides

Refugee Appeal Division

TB7-01837 (May 2017)
This Jurisprudential Guide looks at whether the treatment experienced by Ahmadis in Pakistan amounts to persecution, whether state protection is available and whether there is a viable internal flight alternative. Decision TB7-01837

MB6-01059/60 (February 2017)
This Jurisprudential Guide looks at the availability of a viable internal flight alternative in India for claimants from Punjab. Decision MB6-01059/60

TB6-11632 (November 2016)
This Jurisprudential Guide provides an analysis of the efficacy of the Chinese national computer network known as the Golden Shield Project and its impact on whether a person wanted by the authorities can exit China via an airport using a genuine passport. Decision TB6-11632

TB4-05778 (June 2016)
The issue in this decision that forms the basis of the Jurisprudential Guide is whether a claimant/appellant who is a citizen of the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (North Korea) is deemed to be a citizen of the Republic of Korea (South Korea). Decision TB4-05778

Revoked Jurisprudential Guides

Refugee Protection Division

TA0-15870 (March 2003) | Revoked (October 2011)
Dealing with Costa Rican claimants seeking protection due to their sexual orientation. The issue in this decision that forms the basis of the Jurisprudential Guide is the determination of the availability of state protection. Decision TA0-15870

TA2-14980 (March 2003) | Revoked (October 2011)
Costa Rican claimants seeking protection due to their fear of criminality. The issue in this decision that forms the basis of the Jurisprudential Guide is the determination of the availability of state protection. Decision TA2-14980

Related Documents

Policy on the Use of Jurisprudential Guides

Guides jurisprudentiels

Les guides jurisprudentiels sont des instruments de politique qui favorisent la cohérence dans le règlement des cas qui comportent des similarités importantes. Ils contribuent à constituer la jurisprudence d’une section au moyen de décisions bien étayées.

S’inspirant de la tradition des précédents en common law et de la tradition du tribunal en matière d’élaboration de politiques par la prise de décisions, les guides jurisprudentiels énoncent la politique par l’application du droit tel qu’elle est établie par une décision de la Commission à des faits précis dans un autre cas particulier devant un décideur. Ils se distinguent des Directives du président, qui sont des énoncés de nature générale non intégrés dans une quelconque décision de la Commission.

Comme il est énoncé dans la Politique sur l’utilisation de guides jurisprudentiels (Politique 2003 - 01, modifiée le 1er décembre 2016), on s’attend à ce que les décideurs appliquent les guides jurisprudentiels aux cas comportant des faits semblables ou justifient leur décision de s’en écarter, le cas échéant.

L’alinéa 159(1)h) de la Loi sur l’immigration et la protection des réfugiés confère au président le pouvoir de préciser les décisions de la Commission qui serviront de guide jurisprudentiel.

Guides jurisprudentiels

Section d’appel des réfugiées

TB7-01837 (mai 2017)
Le présent guide jurisprudentiel aborde la question visant à savoir si le traitement réservé aux Ahmadis au Pakistan équivaut à de la persécution, s’ils peuvent se prévaloir de la protection de l’État et s’il existe une possibilité de refuge intérieur viable. Décision TB7-01837

MB6-01059/60 (février 2017)
Le présent guide jurisprudentiel examine l’existence d’une possibilité de refuge intérieur viable en Inde pour les demandeurs d’asile du Pendjab. Décision MB6-01059/60

TB6-11632 (novembre 2016)
Le présent guide jurisprudentiel analyse l’efficacité du réseau informatique national chinois connu sous le nom de projet Bouclier d’or, et s’emploie à répondre à la question visant à savoir si, compte tenu de ce réseau, une personne recherchée par les autorités peut quitter la Chine à un aéroport munie d’un passeport authentique. Décision TB6-11632

TB4-05778 (juin 2016)
La question à trancher dans cette décision, et qui constitue le fondement du guide jurisprudentiel, est d’établir si un demandeur d’asile appelant, qui est un citoyen de la République populaire démocratique de Corée (Corée du Nord) est réputé être un citoyen de la République de la Corée (Corée du Sud). Décision TB4-05778

Guides jurisprudentiels révoqués

Section de la protection des réfugiés

TA0-15870 (mars 2003) | Revoquée (octobre 2011)
Demandeurs costariciens qui demandent l'asile en raison de leur orientation sexuelle. La détermination de la demande repose sur la question de la protection de l'État. Décision TA0-15870

TA2-14980 (mars 2003) | Revoquée (octobre 2011)
Demandeurs costariciens qui demandent l'asile en raison de la criminalité. La détermination de la demande repose sur la question de la protection de l'État. Décision TA2-14980

Documents connexes

Politique sur l'utilisation de guides jurisprudentiels

Liens connexes