Chairperson Guidelines 7: Concerning Preparation and Conduct of a Hearing in the Refugee Protection Division

Effective date: December 15, 2006
Amended December 15, 2012

Guidelines issued by the Chairperson
pursuant to paragraph 159(1)(h)
of the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act


Table of Contents

  1. Introduction
  2. The roles of members and counsel
  3. Case preparation
    1. Early review of files
    2. Disclosure of documents
    3. Information requests to IRB Research Directorate
  4. Hearing preliminaries
    1. Failure to appear
    2. Conference before the hearing
    3. Interpreters
    4. Affirmation
    5. Basis of Claim Form (BOC Form)
    6. List of documents
  5. Hearing
    1. Issue agenda
    2. Questioning
    3. Representations
    4. Oral decisions
  6. References
  7. Inquiries

1. Introduction

1.1 The Refugee Protection Division (RPD) is a division of Canada's largest administrative tribunal, the Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada (IRB). Administrative tribunals operate less formally and more expeditiously than courts of law. Accordingly, the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act (IRPA) requires the IRB to deal with proceedings before it informally, quickly and fairly.Note 1 The Chairperson has issued these guidelines to explain what the RPD does before and during the hearing to make its proceedings efficient but still fair. The guidelines also set out what the RPD expects participants to do.

1.2 The guidelines apply to most cases heard by the RPD. However, in compelling or exceptional circumstances, members will use their discretion not to apply some guidelines or to apply them less strictly.

1.3 Generally speaking, the RPD will make allowances for self-represented claimants who are unfamiliar with the RPD's processes and rules. Claimants identified as particularly vulnerable will be treated with special sensitivity. The RPD may apply Guideline 8: Guideline on Procedures with Respect to Vulnerable Persons Appearing Before the IRB and identify as vulnerable those refugee claimants whose ability to present their case is severely impaired.

2. The roles of members and counsel

2.1 Under the IRPA, RPD members have the same powers as commissioners who are appointed under the Inquiries Act.Note 2 They may inquire into anything they consider relevant to establishing whether a claim is well-founded.Note 3This means that they define what issues must be resolved in order for them to render a decision.

2.2 A member's role is different from the role of a judge. A judge's primary role is to consider the evidence and arguments that the opposing parties choose to present; it is not to tell parties how to present their cases. Case lawNote 4 has clearly established that the RPD has control of its own procedures. The RPD decides and gives directions as to how a hearing is to proceed. The members have to be actively involved to make the RPD's inquiry process work properly.

2.3 The role of counsel is the same whether counsel is representing a claimant or the Minister. Counsel assists the client in presenting the case in an efficient manner within the limits set by the member. Their role is essentially to protect the client's interests and right to a fair hearing.

3. Case preparation

3.1 To make the best use of hearing time, these guidelines emphasize the importance of case preparation within the time limits set out for hearings in the Immigration and Refugee Protection Regulations.Note 5 Files will be reviewed early in the process, and the Refugee Protection Division Rules (RPD Rules) will be strictly followed.

A. Early review of files

3.2 Prior to hearings, RPD members will review the files and provide any appropriate instructions to IRB personnel and the parties as required.

B. Disclosure of documents

3.3 The RPD and the parties must disclose documents that they want to use at the hearing according to the RPD Rules.Note 6 Unless the member decides otherwise, a document that was not disclosed according to the RPD Rules cannot be used at the hearing.Note 7

3.4 Each document a party wants to use must be relevant and must not duplicate other documents provided by the other party, if any, or by the RPD.Note 8

3.5 Members may refuse to accept documents that are not relevant to the proceeding.

3.6 The RPD will provide information on the country of reference. This means that every case will have some basic documentary evidence. The RPD may use information contained in the National Documentation Package (NDP) for the country of origin to which the refugee claim is related. In such cases, the RPD will provide a list of those documents to the parties or inform them of how to access the NDP from the IRB website.Note 9 Parties have the responsibility to check, prior to the hearing, for any amended version of the NDP list of documents for the country of origin in question.

C. Information requests to IRB Research Directorate

3.7 The RPD will submit requests for country of origin and claimant-specific information to the IRB Research Directorate only where the time allows and where the RPD considers that the information is necessary to decide the case and cannot be obtained from any other source.

4. Hearing preliminaries

4.1 The procedure for opening hearings is standardized to allow more of the hearing time to be spent on the claim itself instead of on opening formalities. Hearings proceed informally, but all the participants must show respect for the RPD and the parties.

A. Failure to appear

4.2 The hearing will begin promptly as scheduled. Participants must be present on time and ready to proceed by the scheduled start time.

4.3 If a party or counsel does not appear by the scheduled start time, the member will note this on the record.

4.4 If a party or counsel appears within 15 minutes after the scheduled start time, the member will note the explanation for the late arrival on the record.

4.5 After 15 minutes:

  • if it is a claimant who has not appeared, the member will either adjourn the hearing or the claimant will have to appear at a special hearing to explain why the claim should not be declared abandoned. This hearing must take place within the following five working days.Note 10
  • if it is a protected personNote 11who has not appeared, the member will decide whether to proceed in the absence of that party or to adjourn the matter on a peremptory basis.
  • if it is counsel who has not appeared, after giving the parties an opportunity to make submissions, the member may decide whether to proceed in counsel's absence, adjourn the proceedings or declare the claim abandoned.Note 12 If the member decides not to adjourn the proceedings or declare the claim abandoned, the hearing must be held the same day the decision is made or as soon as possible after that day.Note 13

B. Conference before the hearing

4.6 A brief conference with the parties will be held just before the hearing only where it would help make the proceedings fairer and more efficient.Note 14 When the claimant is represented, the member and counsel will participate, but the claimant will not usually be present. A represented claimant may be present if the member decides it would be useful. If the claimant was not present at the conference, before the hearing begins, the member will summarize for the claimant what was discussed and what instructions the member gave at the conference. The member will make a written record of any decisions and agreements made at the conference.Note 15

C. Interpreters

4.7 Interpreters are permanently bound by their promise to interpret accurately once they make a solemn affirmation to do so. Therefore, a member who knows that an interpreter has been sworn in before by the RPD should simply ask the interpreter to confirm that they have made the affirmation.

4.8 At the beginning of the hearing, the interpreter will confirm that they have used a standardized script to make sure that the interpreter and claimant are able to speak to and understand each other.

D. Affirmation

4.9 Before the claimant starts testifying, the member will ask the claimant to make a solemn affirmation.

E. Basis of Claim Form (BOC Form)

4.10 The claimant is responsible for making sure that the BOC Form was interpreted to them before the hearing. At the beginning of the hearing, the member will ask the claimant to confirm that the interpretation was done.

4.11 Any changes to the BOC Form must be submitted without delay and must be received at least 10 days before the hearing according to the RPD Rules.Note 16

F. List of documents

4.12 The member will not create a new list of documents. The member will use a standard RPD list of documents and will update this list when a party submits documents for a proceeding.

5. Hearing

5.1 It is an essential part of the member's inquisitorial role to be actively involved in the conduct of hearings. The member is in charge of the hearing and issues instructions as required to make the proceedings fair and efficient.

A. Issue agenda

5.2 At the beginning of the hearing, the member will consult with counsel about the issues and will identify timelines and expectations for how the hearing will unfold.

B. Questioning

5.3 RPD rule 10 sets out the standard order of questioning. In a claim for refugee protection where the Minister is not a party, the standard will be for the member to start the questioning, followed by counsel for the claimant.Note 17 Beginning the hearing in this way allows the claimant to quickly understand what evidence the member needs from the claimant in order for the claimant to prove their case.

5.4 Minister's counsel will start the questioning if the Minister is a party and has intervened on an issue of exclusion under section E or F of Article 1 of the Refugee Convention, followed by the member and then counsel for the claimant.Note 18

5.5 The member will start the questioning when the Minister is a party but has not intervened on an issue of exclusion under section E or F of Article 1 of the Refugee Convention, followed by the Minister's counsel and then counsel for the claimant.Note 19

5.6 The member must not vary the order of questioning unless there are exceptional circumstancesNote 20 such as the need to accommodate a vulnerable person. Applications under Guideline 8: Guideline on Procedures with Respect to Vulnerable Persons Appearing Before the IRB should be made early in the process and according to the RPD Rules.

5.7 The member may limit the questioning of witnesses according to the nature and complexity of the issues.Note 21 Questioning must bring out relevant information that will help the member make an informed decision. Questions that are answered by the claimant just repeating what is written in the BOC Form do not help the member.

C. Representations

5.8 Parties will have an opportunity to make representations at the hearing.Note 22 The member will set time limits for the representations after all the evidence has been heard. The time limits will be reasonable in relation to the duration of the hearing, the number of issues and the amount of relevant evidence heard.

5.9 In general, it is expected that counsel should be ready to give oral representations after the evidence has been heard.Note 23 These representations must be relevant, focused and concise so that they help the member to decide the claim efficiently and make it possible for the member to give an oral decision and reasons at the end of the hearing.

D. Oral decisions

5.10 RPD members will render oral decisions and reasons at the end of the hearing "unless it is not practicable to do so".Note 24

6. References

7. Inquiries

For more information, please contact:

Director, Policy and Procedures Directorate
Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada
Minto Place—Canada Building
344 Slater Street, 14th Floor
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0K1
Fax: 613-952-9083

Notes

Note 1

Immigration and Refugee Protection Act, subsection 162(2).

Return to note 1 referrer

Note 2

Immigration and Refugee Protection Act, section 165.

Return to note 2 referrer

Note 3

Immigration and Refugee Protection Act, paragraph 170(a).

Return to note 3 referrer

Note 4

Rezaei, Iraj v. M.C.I. (F.C.T.D., No. IMM-1367-02), Beaudry, December 5, 2002, which refers to the powers of administrative tribunals according to Prassad v. Canada (Minister of Employment and Immigration), [1989] 1 S.C.R. 560.

Return to note 4 referrer

Note 5

Immigration and Refugee Protection Regulations, subsection 159.9(1).

Return to note 5 referrer

Note 6

Refugee Protection Division Rules, rules 33 and 34.

Return to note 6 referrer

Note 5

Refugee Protection Division Rules, rule 36.

Return to note 7 referrer

Note 8

Refugee Protection Division Rules, rule 35.

Return to note 8 referrer

Note 9

Refugee Protection Division Rules, subrule 33(2).

Return to note 9 referrer

Note 10

Refugee Protection Division Rules, subrules 65(1) and (3).

Return to note 10 referrer

Note 11

Immigration and Refugee Protection Act, subsection 95(2).

Return to note 11 referrer

Note 12

Refugee Protection Division Rules, subrules 65(4) and (7).

Return to note 12 referrer

Note 13

Refugee Protection Division Rules, subrule 65(7).

Return to note 13 referrer

Note 14

Refugee Protection Division Rules, subrule 24(1). A conference should be held only where it would be more practical or efficient to consider such issues before the actual hearing or where it may be more appropriate to discuss certain sensitive issues without the presence of the claimant. For example, where there are complex legal issues to be discussed, a conference may be held to go over matters related to procedure or to evidence to be settled. A conference may also be held where the refugee claimant has been identified as vulnerable.

Return to note 14 referrer

Note 15

Refugee Protection Division Rules, subrule 24(3).

Return to note 15 referrer

Note 16

Refugee Protection Division Rules, subrule 9(2).

Return to note 16 referrer

Note 17

Refugee Protection Division Rules, subrule 10(1).

Return to note 17 referrer

Note 18

Refugee Protection Division Rules, subrule 10(2).

Return to note 18 referrer

Note 19

Refugee Protection Division Rules, subrule 10(3).

Return to note 19 referrer

Note 20

Refugee Protection Division Rules, subrule 10(5).

Return to note 20 referrer

Note 21

Refugee Protection Division Rules, subrule 10(6).

Return to note 21 referrer

Note 22

Immigration and Refugee Protection Act, paragraph 170(e).

Return to note 22 referrer

Note 23

Refugee Protection Division Rules, subrule 10(7).

Return to note 23 referrer

Note 24

Refugee Protection Division Rules, subrule 10(8).

Return to note 24 referrer

Directives numéro 7 du président : Directives concernant la préparation et la tenue des audiences à la Section de la protection des réfugiés

Date d'entrée en vigueur : 1er décembre 2003
Modifié le 15 décembre 2012

Directives données par le président
en application de l'alinéa 159(1)h)
de la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés


Table des matières

  1. Introduction
  2. Rôles des commissaires et des conseils
  3. Préparation des cas
    1. Examen des dossiers en début de processus
    2. Communication des documents
    3. Demandes d'information présentées à la Direction des recherches de la CISR
  4. Activités préliminaires à l'audience
    1. Omission de se présenter
    2. Conférence avant l'audience
    3. Interprètes
    4. Déclaration
    5. Formulaire de Fondement de la demande d'asile (FDA)
    6. Liste de documents
  5. Audience
    1. Questions à l'ordre du jour
    2. Interrogatoires
    3. Observations
    4. Décisions de vive voix
  6. Document de Référence
  7. Demandes de renseignements

1. Introduction

1.1 La Section de la protection des réfugiés (SPR) est une section du plus important tribunal administratif du Canada, la Commission de l'immigration et du statut de réfugié du Canada (CISR). Les tribunaux administratifs s'acquittent de leurs fonctions de façon moins formelle et selon une procédure plus expéditive que les cours de justice. Ainsi, la CISR est tenue, par la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés (LIPR), de fonctionner sans formalisme et avec célérité et équitéNote 1. Les présentes directives, données par le président, visent à expliquer les mesures prises par la SPR avant et pendant l'audience pour rendre sa procédure plus efficace tout en étant équitable. Les directives précisent également les attentes de la SPR à l'égard des participants.

1.2 Les directives s'appliquent à la plupart des cas entendus par la SPR. Toutefois, dans des circonstances exceptionnelles ou impérieuses, les commissaires peuvent exercer leur pouvoir discrétionnaire de ne pas appliquer certains éléments des directives ou de les appliquer moins rigoureusement.

1.3 En général, la SPR se montre plus indulgente envers les demandeurs d'asile se représentant eux-mêmes qui ne connaissent pas ses processus et ses règles. Elle fait preuve d'une plus grande sensibilité à l'égard des demandeurs d'asile particulièrement vulnérables. La SPR peut appliquer les directives no 8, Directives sur les procédures concernant les personnes vulnérables qui comparaissent devant la CISR, et identifier comme vulnérables les demandeurs d'asile dont la capacité de présenter leur cas est grandement diminuée.

2. Rôles des commissaires et des conseils

2.1 Sous le régime de la LIPR, les commissaires de la SPR sont investis des pouvoirs d'un commissaire nommé en vertu de la Loi sur les enquêtesNote 2. Ils peuvent procéder à tous les actes qu'ils jugent utiles à la manifestation du bien‑fondé de la demande d'asileNote 3. En d'autres termes, ils cernent les questions qui doivent être réglées pour qu'ils puissent rendre leurs décisions.

2.2 Le rôle du commissaire diffère donc du rôle du juge. Le rôle principal du juge est d'examiner les éléments de preuve et les arguments présentés par les parties adverses; le juge ne dit pas aux parties comment présenter leur cause. La jurisprudenceNote 4 a clairement établi que la SPR est maître de sa propre procédure. La SPR décide du déroulement de l'audience et donne les instructions à cet égard. Les commissaires doivent prendre une part active aux audiences pour que le travail d'enquête de la SPR soit efficace.

2.3 Le rôle du conseil est le même, qu'il représente le demandeur d'asile ou le ministre. Il aide le client à présenter sa cause de façon efficace en respectant les limites établies par le commissaire. Il joue essentiellement un rôle de protection des intérêts du client et du droit de ce dernier à une audience équitable.

3. Préparation des cas

3.1 Les présentes directives ont été rédigées de manière que le temps d'audience soit utilisé de façon optimale. Ainsi, elles mettent l'accent sur l'importance de préparer les cas dans les délais prévus dans le Règlement sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiésNote 5pour la tenue des audiences. Les dossiers sont examinés au début du processus, et les Règles de la Section de la protection des réfugiés (Règles de la SPR) sont rigoureusement respectées.

A. Examen des dossiers en début de processus

3.2 Avant les audiences, les commissaires de la SPR examinent les dossiers et donnent les instructions appropriées au personnel de la CISR et aux parties.

B. Communication des documents

3.3 La SPR et les parties doivent communiquer les documents qu'elles entendent utiliser à l'audience conformément aux Règles de la SPRNote 6. À moins que le commissaire n'en décide autrement, les documents qui n'ont pas été communiqués conformément aux Règles de la SPR ne peuvent être utilisés à l'audienceNote 7.

3.4 Chaque document qu'une partie entend utiliser doit être pertinent et ne doit pas faire double emploi avec d'autres documents transmis par l'autre partie, le cas échéant, ou par la SPRNote 8.

3.5 Les commissaires peuvent refuser d'admettre en preuve les documents qui ne sont pas pertinents pour la procédure.

3.6 La SPR communique l'information relative au pays de référence. Ainsi, dans chaque cas, la preuve documentaire de base est présentée. La SPR peut utiliser l'information figurant dans le Cartable national de documentation (CND) sur le pays d'origine auquel la demande d'asile est liée. Dans ces cas, la SPR transmet la liste de ces documents aux parties ou des renseignements concernant l'endroit où le CND se trouve sur le site web de la CISRNote 9. Il incombe aux parties de vérifier, avant l'audience, toute version modifiée de la liste de documents du CND concernant le pays d'origine en question.

C. Demandes d'information présentées à la Direction des recherches de la CISR

3.7 La SPR présente les demandes d'information sur le pays d'origine et les demandes de renseignements précis sur le demandeur d'asile à la Direction des recherches de la CISR uniquement si le temps le permet et si elle estime que l'information recherchée est nécessaire au règlement du cas et ne peut être obtenue auprès d'autres sources.

4. Activités préliminaires à l'audience

4.1 La procédure d'ouverture des audiences est uniformisée afin que le temps d'audience soit plus largement consacré à l'audition de la demande d'asile qu'aux formalités préliminaires. Les audiences se déroulent sans formalisme, mais tous les participants doivent se montrer respectueux envers la SPR et les parties.

A. Omission de se présenter

4.2 L'audience débute sans délai à l'heure fixée. Les participants doivent être présents et prêts à commencer à l'heure dite.

4.3 Si une partie ou le conseil omet de se présenter à l'heure fixée, le commissaire verse une note au dossier à cet effet.

4.4 Si une partie ou le conseil se présente dans les quinze minutes qui suivent l'heure fixée, le commissaire inscrit au dossier les raisons données pour expliquer le retard.

4.5 Au bout de quinze minutes :

  • si le demandeur d'asile omet de se présenter, le commissaire ajourne l'audience ou le demandeur d'asile doit se présenter à une audience spéciale pour expliquer pourquoi le désistement de la demande d'asile ne devrait pas être prononcé. Cette audience est tenue dans les cinq jours ouvrables qui suiventNote 10;
  • si la personne protégéeNote 11omet de se présenter, le commissaire décide s'il y a lieu de poursuivre l'audience en l'absence de cette partie ou d'ajourner l'affaire à une date péremptoire;
  • si le conseil omet de se présenter, le commissaire peut, après avoir donné aux parties la possibilité de présenter des observations, décider de poursuivre l'audience en l'absence du conseil, d'ajourner l'audience ou de prononcer le désistement de la demande d'asileNote 12. Si le commissaire décide de ne pas ajourner l'audience ou de pas prononcer le désistement de la demande d'asile, l'audience doit se tenir le même jour de cette décision ou dès que possible après cette dateNote 13.

B. Conférence avant l'audience

4.6 Une brève conférence réunissant les parties est tenue immédiatement avant l'audience seulement si cela peut aider à rendre les procédures plus équitables et efficacesNote 14. Si le demandeur d'asile est représenté, le commissaire et le conseil prennent part à la conférence, habituellement en l'absence du demandeur d'asile. Le demandeur d'asile représenté peut prendre part à la conférence si le commissaire juge sa présence utile. Si le demandeur d'asile n'est pas présent à cette conférence, avant le début de l'audience, le commissaire lui fait un sommaire des questions qui ont été abordées et des instructions qu'il a données. Le commissaire note dans un procès‑verbal toutes les décisions prises et tous les accords conclus à la conférenceNote 15.

C. Interprètes

4.7 Les interprètes sont liés par leur promesse d'interpréter fidèlement une fois qu'ils ont fait une déclaration solennelle en ce sens. Ainsi, le commissaire qui sait qu'un interprète a déjà prêté serment devant la SPR devrait simplement lui demander de le confirmer.

4.8 Au début de l'audience, l'interprète confirme, au moyen d'un énoncé normalisé, s'être assuré que lui et le demandeur d'asile sont capables de se parler et de se comprendre.

D. Déclaration

4.9 Avant que le demandeur d'asile commence à témoigner, le commissaire lui fait faire une déclaration solennelle.

E. Formulaire de Fondement de la demande d'asile (formulaire de FDA)

4.10 Il incombe au demandeur d'asile de se faire interpréter le formulaire de FDA avant l'audience. Au début de l'audience, le commissaire lui demande de confirmer qu'il y a effectivement eu interprétation.

4.11 Toute modification au formulaire de FDA doit être transmise sans délai et doit être reçue au plus tard dix jours avant l'audience, conformément aux Règles de la SPRNote 16.

F. Liste de documents

4.12 Le commissaire ne créera pas une nouvelle liste de documents. Le commissaire utilisera une liste de documents uniformisée et mettra à jour cette liste lorsqu'une partie soumettra des documents pour une procédure.

5. Audience

5.1 La participation active des commissaires à la tenue des audiences fait partie intégrante de leur rôle inquisitoire. Le commissaire dirige l'audience et donne des instructions, au besoin, afin que les procédures soient équitables et efficaces.

A. Questions à l'ordre du jour

5.2 Au début de l'audience, le commissaire consulte le conseil au sujet des questions à trancher et établit un échéancier ainsi que les attentes relatives au déroulement de l'audience.

B. Interrogatoires

5.3 La règle 10 des Règles de la SPR établit l'ordre habituel des interrogatoires. Lors d'une audience relative à une demande d'asile à laquelle le ministre n'est pas une partie, le commissaire commence habituellement l'interrogatoire, puis c'est au tour du conseil du demandeur d'asileNote 17 d'interroger ce dernier. Ainsi, le demandeur d'asile peut connaître rapidement les éléments de preuve qu'il doit présenter au commissaire pour établir le bien‑fondé de sa demande d'asile.

5.4 Le conseil du ministre commence l'interrogatoire si le ministre est une partie parce qu'il est intervenu relativement à une clause d'exclusion au titre des sections E ou F de l'article premier de la Convention sur les réfugiés, puis c'est au tour du commissaire d'interroger le demandeur d'asile, suivi du conseil du demandeur d'asileNote 18.

5.5 Le commissaire commence l'interrogatoire si le ministre est une partie, mais qu'il n'est pas intervenu relativement à une clause d'exclusion au titre des sections E ou F de l'article premier de la Convention sur les réfugiés, puis c'est au tour du conseil du ministre d'interroger le demandeur d'asile, suivi du conseil du demandeur d'asileNote 19.

5.6 Le commissaire ne peut changer l'ordre des interrogatoires, sauf en cas de circonstances exceptionnellesNote 20, notamment si le changement est nécessaire pour accommoder une personne vulnérable. Les demandes au titre des Directives no 8, Directives sur les procédures concernant les personnes vulnérables qui comparaissent devant la CISR, doivent être présentées au début du processus et conformément aux Règles de la SPR.

5.7 Le commissaire peut limiter l'interrogatoire des témoins en prenant en considération la nature et la complexité des points litigieuxNote 21. L'interrogatoire doit servir à obtenir l'information pertinente qui aidera le commissaire à rendre une décision éclairée. Les questions auxquelles le demandeur d'asile répond en reprenant simplement ce qui est écrit dans le formulaire de FDA n'aident pas le commissaire.

C. Observations

5.8 Les parties ont la possibilité de présenter des observations à l'audienceNote 22. Le commissaire fixe des limites de temps pour présenter des observations après que tous les témoignages eurent été entendus, en tenant compte de la durée de l'audience, du nombre de questions examinées et du volume de la preuve pertinente présentée.

5.9 En général, le conseil doit être prêt à faire les observations oralement après la présentation de la preuveNote 23. Ces observations doivent être pertinentes, ciblées et concises afin que le commissaire puisse statuer sur la demande d'asile avec efficacité et prononcer de vive voix la décision et les motifs à l'issue de l'audience.

D. Décisions de vive voix

5.10 Le commissaire de la SPR rend une décision et donne les motifs de la décision de vive voix à la fin de l'audience, « à moins qu'il ne soit pas possible de le faire »Note 24.

6. Documents de référence

7. Demandes de renseignements

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements :

Directeur, Direction des politiques et des procédures
Commission de l'immigration et du statut de réfugié du Canada
Place Minto - Édifice Canada
344, rue Slater, 14e étage
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0K1
Télécopieur : 613‑952‑9083

Notes

Note 1

Paragraphe 162(2) de la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés.

Retour à la référence de la note 1

Note 2

Article 165 de la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés.

Retour à la référence de la note 2

Note 3

Alinéa 170a) de la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés.

Retour à la référence de la note 3

Note 4

Rezaei, Iraj c. M.C.I. (C.F.P.I., IMM-1367-02), Beaudry, 5 décembre 2002, qui renvoie aux pouvoirs des tribunaux administratifs suivant l'arrêt Prassad c. Canada (Ministre de l'Emploi et de l'Immigration), [1989] 1 R.C.S. 560.

Retour à la référence de la note 4

Note 5

Paragraphe 159.9(1) du Règlement sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés.

Retour à la référence de la note 5

Note 6

Règles 33 et 34 des Règles de la Section de la protection des réfugiés.

Retour à la référence de la note 6

Note 7

Règle 36 des Règles de la Section de la protection des réfugiés.

Retour à la référence de la note 7

Note 8

Règle 35 des Règles de la Section de la protection des réfugiés.

Retour à la référence de la note 8

Note 9

Paragraphe 33(2) des Règles de la Section de la protection des réfugiés.

Retour à la référence de la note 9

Note 10

Paragraphe 65(1) et 65(3) des Règles de la Section de la protection des réfugiés.

Retour à la référence de la note 10

Note 11

Paragraphe 95(2) de la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés.

Retour à la référence de la note 11

Note 12

Paragraphe 65(4) de la Règles de la Section de la protection des réfugiés.

Retour à la référence de la note 12

Note 13

Paragraphe 65(7) des Règles de la Section de la protection des réfugiés.

Retour à la référence de la note 13

Note 14

Paragraphe 24(1) des Règles de la Section de la protection des réfugiés. La conférence ne devrait être tenue que s'il était plus pratique ou efficace d'examiner ces questions avant l'audience ou s'il convenait mieux de discuter de certains points litigieux en l'absence du demandeur d'asile. Par exemple, lorsqu'il faut examiner des questions complexes de droit, une conférence peut être tenue pour régler des questions de preuve ou de procédure. Une conférence peut aussi avoir lieu lorsque le demandeur d'asile est une personne vulnérable.

Retour à la référence de la note 14

Note 15

Paragraphe 24(3) des Règles de la Section de la protection des réfugiés.

Retour à la référence de la note 15

Note 16

Paragraphe 9(2) des Règles de la Section de la protection des réfugiés.

Retour à la référence de la note 16

Note 17

Paragraphe 10(1) des Règles de la Section de la protection des réfugiés.

Retour à la référence de la note 17

Note 18

Paragraphe 10(2) des Règles de la Section de la protection des réfugiés.

Retour à la référence de la note 18

Note 19

Paragraphe 10(3) des Règles de la Section de la protection des réfugiés.

Retour à la référence de la note 19

Note 20

Paragraphe 10(5) des Règles de la Section de la protection des réfugiés.

Retour à la référence de la note 20

Note 21

Paragraphe 10(6) des Règles de la Section de la protection des réfugiés.

Retour à la référence de la note 21

Note 22

Alinéa 170e) de la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés.

Retour à la référence de la note 22

Note 23

Paragraphe 10(7) des Règles de la Section de la protection des réfugiés.

Retour à la référence de la note 23

Note 24

Paragraphe 10(8) des Règles de la Section de la protection des réfugiés.

Retour à la référence de la note 24