Act, Rules and Regulations


The Immigration and Refugee Protection Act (IRPA) provides the Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada (IRB) with jurisdiction to hear and decide cases on immigration and refugee matters. The IRPA sets out the core principles and concepts that govern Canada's immigration and refugee protection programs, including provisions relating to refugees, sponsorships and removals, detention reviews and admissibility hearings, and the jurisdiction and powers of tribunals.

The IRPA came into force on June 28, 2002.

On December 15, 2012, Canada's refugee determination system underwent significant changes as a result of the coming into force of amendments to the IRPA from the Balanced Refugee Reform Act and the Protecting Canada's Immigration System Act, as well as related accompanying regulations.


The Immigration and Refugee Protection Regulations relate to temporary foreign workers, students, the examination of persons seeking entry, permanent resident cards, residency obligations, family class, the selection of skilled workers and business immigrants, refugees, humanitarian and compassionate considerations, inadmissibility, detention and release, pre-removal risk assessments and other enforcement-related matters. These regulations, which came into force on June 28, 2002, have since been amended.

One significant amendment is the Regulations Amending the Immigration and Refugee Protection Regulations, which set processing time limits for refugee protection claims at the Refugee Protection Division and appeals at the Refugee Appeal Division. These regulations came into force on December 15, 2012.

IRB Rules

Each set of divisional rules establishes the practices and required procedures for that division. The rules of each division are binding, although certain rules expressly grant discretion.

Rules provide direction to decision-makers and serve to direct users of the tribunals in their presentation of cases before the IRB. Subsection 161(1) of the IRPA, provides statutory authority for the rules.

The Immigration Appeal Division Rules and the Immigration Division Rules came into force on June 28, 2002.

The current versions of the Refugee Appeal Division Rules and the Refugee Protection Division Rules came into force on December 15, 2012.

The IRPA provides that the Chairperson and other members of the Board must swear the oath or give the solemn affirmation of office set out in the rules of the Board.

Rules of the Federal Court

Forward regulatory plan

A forward regulatory plan is a public list or description of anticipated regulatory changes or actions that a department intends to bring forward or undertake in a specified time frame. It is intended to give stakeholders greater opportunity to inform the development of rules and to plan for the future. It should be noted that this forward regulatory plan will be adjusted and updated over time as the IRB's operating environment also changes over time.

This plan provides information on the planned and potential regulatory initiatives that the IRB expects to bring forward. It also identifies public consultation opportunities and a departmental contact point.

For more information

To learn about upcoming or ongoing consultations on proposed federal regulations, visit the Canada Gazette and Consulting With Canadians websites.

Loi, règles et règlements

Loi

La Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés (LIPR) précise les compétences de la Commission de l'immigration et du statut de réfugié du Canada (CISR) pour ce qui est de statuer sur les questions liées aux immigrants et aux réfugiés. La LIPR établit les principes et les concepts fondamentaux qui régissent les programmes canadiens d'immigration et de protection des réfugiés, y compris les dispositions relatives aux réfugiés, au parrainage et aux renvois, aux contrôles des motifs de détention et aux enquêtes ainsi que les compétences et pouvoirs des tribunaux.

La LIPR est entrée en vigueur le 28 juin 2002.

Le 15 décembre 2012, le système d'octroi de l'asile du Canada a fait l'objet d'importants changements en raison de l'entrée en vigueur des modifications apportées à la LIPR par la Loi sur des mesures de réforme équitables concernant les réfugiés et la Loi visant à protéger le système d'immigration du Canada, ainsi qu'au règlement d'application connexe.

Règlements

Le Règlement sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés fait état des travailleurs étrangers temporaires, des étudiants, du contrôle des personnes qui cherchent à entrer au Canada, des cartes de résident permanent, de l'obligation de résidence, de la catégorie du regroupement familial, de la sélection des travailleurs qualifiés et des gens d'affaires immigrants, des réfugiés, des motifs d'ordre humanitaire, de l'interdiction de territoire, de la détention et de la mise en liberté, de l'examen des risques avant renvoi et d'autres questions liées à l'exécution de la loi. Ce règlement, qui est entré en vigueur le 28 juin 2002, a été modifié depuis qu'il a pris effet.

Une modification particulière est le Règlement modifiant le Règlement sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés, qui établit des délais précis pour le traitement des demandes d'asile à la Section de la protection des réfugiés et le traitement des appels à la Section d'appels des réfugiés. Ces dispositions réglementaires sont entrées en vigueur le 15 décembre 2012.

Règles de la CISR

Les Règles de chaque section énoncent les pratiques et les procédures de chacune d'entre elles. Les Règles de chaque section sont d'application obligatoire, même si l'une de leurs dispositions accorde un pouvoir discrétionnaire au décideur.

Les Règles guident les décideurs et donnent aux clients des tribunaux l'orientation requise pour la présentation de leur cas devant la Commission. Le paragraphe 161(1) de la LIPR confère au président le pouvoir de prendre des règles.

Les Règles de la Section d'appel de l'immigration et les Règles de la Section de l'immigration sont entrées en vigueur le 28 juin 2002.

Les versions actuelles des Règles de la Section d'appel des réfugiés et des Règles de la Section de la protection des réfugiés sont entrées en vigueur le 15 décembre 2012.

La LIPR prévoit que le président et les autres commissaires prêtent le serment professionnel — ou font la déclaration — dont le texte figure aux règles de la Commission.

Règles des Cours fédérales

Plan prospectif de la réglementation

Le plan prospectif de la réglementation se présente sous la forme d’une liste ou d’une description, accessible au public, qui répertorie les modifications réglementaires qu’un ministère entend, effectivement ou potentiellement, apporter dans un délai établi. Il a pour objet de donner aux intervenants la possibilité d’intervenir dans le cadre de l’élaboration de règles et de planifier l’avenir. Il importe néanmoins de noter que ce plan est appelé à être modifié et mis à jour au fur et à mesure que le contexte opérationnel de la CISR évolue.

Ce plan fournit des renseignements sur les initiatives de réglementation prévues ou possibles que la CISR entend mener. Il décrit également les possibilités de consultation publique et contient les coordonnées d’une personne-ressource dans l'organisation.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements au sujet des consultations actuelles ou à venir sur les projets de règlement fédéraux, veuillez consulter la page Web de la Gazette du Canada ou le site Web Consultations auprès des Canadiens.