Forward Regulatory Plan 2014-16

Refugee Protection Division Rules (Applications for Protection)

Description of the objective

The first phase of a new refugee determination system was created through legislative amendments to the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act in December 2012. The final phase of the new refugee determination system transfers most of the functions related to Pre-Removal Risk Assessment (PRRA) from Citizenship and Immigration (CIC) to the Refugee Protection Division (RPD) of the Immigration and Refugee Board (IRB) on a date to be set by the Governor-in-Council. CIC had announced that the transfer to the IRB of the PRRA function and outstanding PRRAs was expected to occur two years after the new system came into force. This was to provide CIC with additional time to reduce the number of pending PRRA applications before the transfer takes place.

The main objective of the Refugee Protection Division Rules (Applications for Protection) regulatory proposal is to implement the PRRA provisions of the amended legislation by making new Rules to govern the practice and procedure for the PRRA function within the RPD. This regulatory proposal is also referred to as the RPD PRRA Rules.

The proposed RPD PRRA Rules would provide clear and transparent direction on the practices and procedures of the RPD to parties (such as applicants and the Minister intervening in an application), counsel appearing before the RPD, the RPD staff who process applications and members who render decisions on applications. This direction ensures that parties present their application before the RPD in a consistent manner, therefore facilitating the fair and efficient administrative processing of applications. The proposed Rules also provide guidance to the RPD to ensure that all applications are processed in a consistent manner that respects the principles of fairness and natural justice.

The proposed RPD PRRA Rules would set out the general practices and procedures to be followed for all applications, including those that would govern interventions by the Minister in applications.  The proposed Rules would also include the elaboration of procedures to ensure that the time limits expected to be set out in the CIC Regulations are met. They would also contain procedures similar to those for claims for refugee protection with respect to designated representatives for minors and persons unable to appreciate the nature of the proceedings. They would also contain procedures governing the conduct of hearings if a hearing is held, such as those related to interpreters, witnesses, the conduct of the hearing and changing the location or date of a hearing.

Enabling Act

Immigration and Refugee Protection Act

Indication of business impacts

There are no expected business impacts. Please note that the IRB is not responsible for high volume regulatory authorizations.

Public consultation opportunities

The following is a list of recently completed stakeholder consultations on the Pre-Removal Risk Assessment Program transfer:

  • New PRRA application form consultations with counsel and refugee advocacy groups – via email (January 2014)
  • Rules consultations with counsel and refugee advocacy groups – Toronto, Montreal (October 2013), and Vancouver (November 2013)

Members of the public may provide comments when this regulatory proposal is pre-published in the Canada Gazette, Part I.

Departmental contact

PRRA Email: PRRA-ERAR@irb-cisr.gc.ca

Plan prévisionnel de réglementation 2014-2016

Règles de la Section de la protection des réfugiés (Demandes de protection)

Objet

Des modifications apportées à la Loi sur l’immigration et la protection des réfugiés en décembre 2012 ont donné lieu à la mise en œuvre de la première étape d’un nouveau système d’octroi de l’asile. Dans le cadre de la dernière étape de la mise en œuvre du nouveau système d’octroi de l’asile, la plupart des fonctions liées à l’examen des risques avant renvoi (ERAR) de Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada (CIC) seront transférées à la Section de la protection des réfugiés (SPR) de la Commission de l’immigration et du statut de réfugié du Canada (CISR), à une date devant être fixée par le gouverneur en conseil. CIC avait annoncé que le transfert à la CISR de la fonction d’ERAR et des dossiers d’ERAR en instance aurait lieu deux ans après la mise en œuvre du nouveau système. Ce délai devait permettre à CIC de réduire le nombre de demandes d’ERAR en instance avant le transfert.

Les Règles de la Section de la protection des réfugiés (Demandes de protection) proposées visent principalement la mise en œuvre des dispositions relatives à l’ERAR prévues dans les nouvelles dispositions législatives. Ainsi, de nouvelles règles régissant les pratiques et les procédures relatives à la fonction d’ERAR au sein de la SPR seront établies. Cette proposition de réglementation est aussi désignée comme les règles de la SPR en matière d’ERAR.

Les règles de la SPR en matière d’ERAR qui sont proposées comporteront des directives claires et transparentes sur les pratiques et les procédures de la SPR aux parties (comme les demandeurs et le ministre intervenant dans une demande), aux conseils qui comparaissent devant la SPR, au personnel de la SPR qui traite les demandes et aux commissaires qui rendent des décisions sur les demandes. Ces directives feront en sorte que les parties présentent leur demande à la SPR de façon uniforme, favorisant ainsi un traitement administratif juste et efficace des demandes. Les règles proposées fournissent aussi une orientation à la SPR afin que toutes les demandes soient traitées d’une manière uniforme qui respecte les principes d’équité et de justice naturelle.

Les règles de la SPR en matière d’ERAR qui sont proposées établiront aussi les pratiques et les procédures générales à respecter pour toutes les demandes, y compris celles qui régissent les interventions du ministre dans les demandes. Les règles proposées prévoient en outre l’établissement de procédures visant à ce que les délais devant être énoncés dans les dispositions réglementaires de CIC soient respectés. Elles prévoiront également des procédures semblables à celles qui existent pour les demandes d’asile relativement aux représentants désignés pour les mineurs et les personnes incapables de comprendre la nature d’une procédure. Elles comprendront de plus des procédures régissant la tenue des audiences lorsqu’une audience a lieu, comme celles se rapportant aux interprètes, aux témoins, au déroulement de l’audience et au changement du lieu ou de la date d’une audience.

Loi habilitante

Loi sur l’immigration et la protection des réfugiés

Répercussions organisationnelles

Il n’y a pas de répercussions organisationnelles prévues. Il est à noter que la SPR n’est pas responsable du grand nombre d’autorisations réglementaires.

Possibilités de consultations publiques

Ci‑dessous la liste des consultations récentes auprès des intervenants qui ont eu lieu sur le transfert des fonctions relatives à l’ERAR :

  • Consultations sur le nouveau formulaire de demande d’ERAR auprès des conseils et des groupes de défense des réfugiés – par courriel (janvier 2014)
  • Consultations sur les règles relatives à l’ERAR auprès des conseils et des groupes de défense des réfugiés – Toronto, Montréal (octobre 2013) et Vancouver (novembre 2013)

Les membres du public auront la possibilité de formuler des commentaires lorsque la proposition de réglementation fera l’objet d’une publication préalable dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada.

Personne-ressource de la CISR

Courriel pour l’ERAR : PRRA-ERAR@irb-cisr.gc.ca