Quarterly Financial Report for the quarter ending December 31, 2011

Statement outlining results, risks and significant changes in operations, personnel and program

Introduction

This quarterly financial report has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board. The report should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates, Supplementary Estimates and previous quarterly financial reports. The report has not been subject to an external audit or review.

The Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada (the IRB) is an independent administrative tribunal that was created on January 1, 1989, by an amendment to the Immigration Act. In 2002, the Immigration Act was replaced by the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act (IRPA) from which each IRB division gets its mandate.

The mission of the IRB is to resolve immigration and refugee cases efficiently, fairly and in accordance with the law on behalf of Canadians.

The IRB has four program activities: Refugee Protection, Immigration Appeals, Admissibility Hearings and Detention Reviews and Internal Services. The Internal Services program activity supports the three other program activities.

A summary description of the IRB activities can be found in Part II of the Main Estimates (PDF, 1.88 MB).

Basis of Presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the IRB's spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the IRB consistent with the Main Estimates for the 2011-2012 fiscal year. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government.

Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

The IRB uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual departmental financial statements that are part of the departmental performance reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

Highlights of fiscal quarter and fiscal year to date (YTD) results

Significant Changes to Authorities

The IRB's authorities have decreased by $3.914 million in comparison to the second quarter, ending September 30, 2011 due to a re-profiling of $17 million in funding to fiscal years 2012-2013 and 2013-2014 following the announcement of June 29, 2012 as the date of Coming into Force of the Balanced Refugee Reform Act; a carry-forward of $4.651 million from fiscal year 2010-2011; and a transfer of $8.435 million in funding for paylist expenditures.

Significant Changes to Expenditures

Expenditures increased by 16% in comparison with the same period in the previous year. This increase is due to a higher level of expenditures incurred in preparation for the implementation of the Balanced Refugee Reform Act. The variance consists primarily of personnel costs (14% increase) and professional and special services costs (42% increase). The third quarter expenditures represent 23% of total authorities available for

Third Quarter Expenditures Compared to Annual Authorities
Third quarter expenditures compared to the annual authorities

[Alternate format]

The image illustrates a graphic. The vertical axis is dollars in millions and the horizontal axis is the fiscal years 2011-2012 and 2010-2011.

  • For fiscal year 2011-2012, the first column indicate the total authorities of 149.1 millions and the second column the expenditures of 35.0 millions.
  • For fiscal year 2010-2012, the first column indicate the total authorities of 129.7 millions and the second column the expenditures of 30.0 millions.

Risks and Uncertainties

The IRB is funded through annual appropriations. As a result, its operations are impacted by any changes in funding approved by Parliament. In addition, the IRB's operations are affected by changes to legislation, the pace of Governor in Council appointments and reappointments by the Government and the intake of new immigration and refugee cases.

Budget 2010 announced that the operating budgets of departments and agencies would be frozen at their 2010-2011 levels for the fiscal years 2011-2012 and 2012-2013. Consequently, increases in expenditures related to personnel costs and other operating expenditures have to be managed within the allocated budget. In addition, a Strategic Review was conducted resulting in net budget reduction of $5.7M over fiscal years 2010-2011, 2011-2012 and 2012-2013 to the Refugee Protection, Admissibility Hearings and Detention Reviews and Internal Services program activities. The impact on organizational activities has been managed through the following actions and mitigation strategies:

  • Increases in personnel costs due to collective agreements have been absorbed through attrition due to retirements and departures for other reasons; and
  • Increases in other operating costs have been managed through the reallocation of budgets from lower to higher priorities.

Significant changes in relation to operations, personnel and program

As of November 15, 2011, responsibility for the provision of e-mail, data centre and network services has been transferred to Shared Services Canada (SSC). Five employees and all capital assets related to these services have been transferred to SSC. For further details, please refer to the note following the Statement of Authorities table.

Approval by Senior Officials

Approved by:

Brian Goodman,
Chairperson
Serge Gascon,
Chief Financial Officer

Ottawa, Canada
February 23, 2012


Statement of Authorities (unaudited) (in thousands of dollars)
Fiscal year 2011-2012
Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2012Note1 Used during the quarter ended December 31, 2011 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 10 - Net Operating expenditures 132,279 30,882 89,563
Budgetary statutory authorities 16,807 4,115 12,346
Total authorities 149,086 34,997 101,909
Statement of Authorities (unaudited) (in thousands of dollars)
Fiscal year 2010-2011
Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2011Note1 Used during the quarter ended December 31, 2010 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 10 - Net Operating expenditures 116,376 26,765 73,803
Budgetary statutory authorities 13,313 3,284 9,852
Total authorities 129,689 30,049 83,655

Pursuant to section 31.1 of the Financial Administration Act and Order-in-Council P.C. 2011-1297 effective November 15, 2011, $557,000 was deemed to have been appropriated by Shared Services Canada (program expenditure), resulting in a reduction of the same amount for the IRB, Vote 10, Appropriation Act No. 1, 2011-2012. To date $74,926 in expenditures have been incurred on behalf of Shared Services Canada by the IRB.

More information is available in the attached table.

Notes

Note 1

Includes only Authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end.

Return to first note 1 referrer

Return to second note 1 referrer

Departmental budgetary expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited) (in thousands of dollars)
Fiscal year 2011-12
Expenditures Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2012 Expended during the quarter ended December 31, 2011 Year to date used at quarter-end
Personnel 111,616 27,409 82,513
Transportation and communications 2,650 983 2,818
Information 94 11 59
Professional and special services 22,140 5,692 13,666
Rentals 978 98 261
Repair and maintenance 6,159 454 1,510
Utilities, materials and supplies 1,098 169 496
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 4,149 111 512
Other subsidies and payments 202 70 74
Total net budgetary expenditures 149,086 34,997 101,909
Departmental budgetary expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited) (in thousands of dollars)
Fiscal year 2010-11
Expenditures Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2011 Expended during the quarter ended December 31, 2010 Year to date used at quarter-end
Personnel 97,808 23,952 68,650
Transportation and communication 4,809 1,125 2,556
Information 295 3 7
Professional and special services 19,591 3,998 9,783
Rentals 1,278 210 622
Repair and maintenance 1,434 115 989
Utilities, materials and supplies 1,130 194 445
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 2,943 443 563
Other subsidies and payments 401 9 40
Total net budgetary expenditures 129,689 30,049 83,655

Rapport financier trimestriel pour le trimestre se terminant le 31 décembre 2011

Compte rendu soulignant les résultats, les risques et les changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et au programme

Introduction

Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction tel qu'exigé par l'article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, et selon la présentation prescrite par le Conseil du Trésor. Ce rapport doit être lu conjointement avec le Budget principal des dépenses, les budgets supplémentaires des dépenses et les rapports financiers trimestriels précédents. Le rapport n'a pas fait l'objet d'une vérification externe ou d'un examen.

La Commission de l'immigration et du statut de réfugié du Canada (CISR) est un tribunal administratif indépendant créé le 1er janvier 1989 par une modification à la Loi sur l'immigration. En 2002, la Loi sur l'immigration a été remplacée par la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés (LIPR), dont est tiré le mandat de chaque section de la CISR.

La mission de la CISR consiste à régler, de manière efficace, équitable et conforme à la loi, au nom des Canadiens, les cas d'immigration et de statut de réfugié.

La CISR compte quatre activités de programme : Protection des réfugiés, Appels en matière d'immigration, Enquêtes et contrôles des motifs de détention ainsi que Services internes. L'activité de programme Services internes appuie les trois autres activités.

Une description sommaire des activités de la CISR peut être trouvée dans la Partie II du Budget des dépenses (PDF, 2.34 Mo).

Méthode de présentation du rapport

Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction en se basant sur une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L'état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser de la CISR accordées par le Parlement et celles utilisées par la CISR, concordant avec le Budget principal des dépenses pour l'exercice 2011-2012. Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé en se servant d'un cadre de présentation de rapports financiers à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d'information financière à l'égard de l'utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut dépenser sans l'autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées par l'entremise de lois de crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles, par l'entremise de lois sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

La CISR utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice intégrale pour la préparation et la présentation de ses états financiers annuels qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement ministériel. Toutefois, les autorisations de dépenser votées par le Parlement sont encore en fonction d'une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

Changements importants aux autorisations

Les autorisations de la CISR ont diminué de 3,914 million de dollars par rapport au deuxième trimestre qui s'est terminé le 30 septembre 2011 en raison du report de 17 millions de dollars de fonds, à la suite de l'annonce de la date d'entrée en vigueur (29 juin 2012) de la Loi sur des mesures de réforme équitables concernant les réfugiés (LMRER), aux exercices 2012-2013 et 2013-2014 ainsi qu'en raison des 4,651 millions de dollars reportés de l'exercice 2010-2011 et du transfert de 8,435 millions de dollars en fonds pour les dépenses salariales.

Changements importants aux dépenses

L'augmentation de 16 % par rapport à la même période de l'exercice précédent est attribuable à des dépenses accrues qui ont été engagées en vue de la préparation pour la mise en œuvre de la LMRER. L'écart est principalement attribuable aux coûts liés au personnel (augmentation de 14 %) et aux coûts liés aux services professionnels et spéciaux (augmentation de 42 %). Les dépenses du troisième trimestre représentent 23 % du total des autorités disponibles.

Dépenses du troisième trimestre en proportion des crédits annuels
Graphique : Dépenses du troisième trimestre en proportion des crédits annuels

[Format alternatif]

L'image illustre un graphique. L'axe vertical représente les dollars en millions et l'axe horizontal représente les exercices financiers 2011-2012 et 2010-2011.

  • Pour l'exercice financier 2011-2012, la première colonne représente les crédits de 149,1 millions et la deuxième représente les dépenses de 35,0 millions.
  • Pour l'exercice financier 2010-2011, la première colonne représente les crédits de 129,7 millions et la deuxième colonne représente les dépenses de 30,0 millions.

Risques and incertitudes

La CISR est tributaire des fonds reçus au moyen de crédits annuels. Par conséquent, ses activités sont touchées par tout changement en matière de financement approuvé par le Parlement. De plus, les activités de la CISR sont touchées par les changements à la législation, le rythme des nominations et renouvellements des mandats de gouverneur en conseil par le Gouvernement et l'apport de nouveaux cas en matière d'immigration et de demandes d'asile.

Dans le Budget 2010, il a été annoncé que les budgets de fonctionnement des ministères ou organismes seraient gelés aux niveaux de 2010-2011 pour les exercices 2011-2012 et 2012-2013. En conséquence, les augmentations de dépenses liées aux frais de personnel et autres frais de fonctionnement doivent être gérées à l'intérieur du budget alloué. De plus, un examen stratégique a été effectué ayant comme résultat une réduction budgétaire nette de 5,7 M$ pour les exercices 2010-2011, 2011-2012 et 2012-2013 aux activités Protection des réfugiés, Enquêtes et contrôles des motifs de détention et Services internes. Les répercussions de ces réductions sur ces activités ont été gérées par l'entremise des mesures et des stratégies d'atténuation suivantes :

  • Les augmentations en frais de personnel occasionnées par les conventions collectives sont absorbées du fait de l'attrition qui se produit en raison de retraites et autres départs.
  • Les augmentations liées aux autres frais de fonctionnement sont gérées par la réaffectation des ressources d'éléments de moindre priorité à d'autres de plus grande priorité.

Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et au programme

Le 15 novembre 2011, la responsabilité de la prestation des services de courriel, du centre de données et de réseau a été transférée à Services partagés Canada (SPC). Les postes de cinq employés y ont été transférés de même que l'ensemble des immobilisations liées à la prestation de ces services. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez vous reporter à la note suivant le tableau de l'état des autorisations.

Approbation des cadres supérieurs

Approuvé par :

Brian Goodman,
président
Serge Gascon,
agent financier principal

Ottawa, Canada
23 février 2012


État des autorisations (non vérifié)
Exercice 2011-2012 (en milliers de dollars)
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012 Note1 Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2011 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 10 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 132 279 30 882 89 563
Autorisations législatives budgétaires 16 807 4 115 12 346
Autorisations totales 149 086 34 997 101 909
État des autorisations (non vérifié)
Exercice 2010-2011 (en milliers de dollars)
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2011 Note1 Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2010 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 10 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 116 376 26 765 78 803
Autorisations législatives budgétaires 13 313 3 284 9 852
Autorisations totales 129 689 30 049 83 655

En vertu de l'article 31.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et du décret C.P. 2011-1297, entré en vigueur le 15 novembre 2011, la somme de 557 000 $ est réputée avoir été affectée au crédit 10 de Services partagés du Canada (dépenses de programme), ce qui a pour effet de réduire d'autant le montant du crédit 10 de la Commission de l'immigration et du statut de réfugié du Canada prévu par la Loi de crédits no 1 de 2011-2012. En date du présent rapport, des dépenses se chiffrant à 74 926 $ ont été engagées pour le compte de Services partagés Canada par la Commission de l'immigration et du statut de réfugié du Canada et affectées au crédit (dépenses de programme) de Services partagés Canada.

De l'information supplémentaire est fournie dans le tableau ci-joint.

Notes

Note 1

N'inclut que les Autorisations disponibles pour l'exercice et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.

Return to first note 1 referrer

Return to second note 1 referrer

Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifié)
Exercice 2011-2012 (en milliers de dollars)
Dépenses Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012 Dépensées durant le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2011 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Personnel 111 616 27 409 82 513
Transports et communications 2 650 983 2 818
Information 94 11 59
Services professionels et spéciaux 22 140 5 692 13 666
Location 978 98 261
Services de réparation et d'entretien 6 159 454 1 510
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 1 098 169 496
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 4 149 111 512
Autres subventions et paiements 202 70 74
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 149 086 34 997 101 909
Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifié)
Exercice 2010-2011 (en milliers de dollars)
Dépenses Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2011 Dépensées durant le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2010 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Personnel 97 808 23 952 68 650
Transports et communications 4 809 1 125 2 556
Information 295 3 7
Services professionels et spéciaux 19 591 3 998 9 783
Location 1 278 210 622
Services de réparation et d'entretien 1 434 115 989
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 1 130 194 445
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 2 943 443 563
Autres subventions et paiements 401 9 40
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 129 689 30 049 83 655