Quarterly Financial Report for the quarter ended September 30, 2011

Statement outlining results, risks and significant changes in operations, personnel and program

Introduction

This quarterly financial report has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board. The report should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates. The report has not been subject to an external audit or review.

The Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada (the IRB) is an independent administrative tribunal that was created on January 1, 1989, by an amendment to the Immigration Act. In 2002, the Immigration Act was replaced by the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act (IRPA) from which each IRB division gets its mandate.

The mission of the IRB is to resolve immigration and refugee cases efficiently, fairly and in accordance with the law on behalf of Canadians.

The IRB has four program activities: Refugee Protection, Immigration Appeals, Admissibility Hearings and Detention Reviews and Internal Services. The Internal Services program activity support the three other program activities.

A summary description of the IRB activities can be found in Part II of the Main Estimates (PDF, 1.88 MB) .

Basis of Presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the IRB's spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the IRB consistent with the Main Estimates for the 2011-2012 fiscal year. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government.

Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

The IRB uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual departmental financial statements that are Part of the departmental performance reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

Highlights of fiscal quarter and fiscal year to date (YTD) results

The Board's quarterly and year-to-date spending are similar in nature to the previous year. The significant increase of 32% over the same period in the previous year is due to a higher level of expenditures incurred in preparation for the implementation of the Balanced Refugee Reform Act, partially offset by reductions in spending resulting from the first round of the Government's Strategic Review. This net increase in expenditures is consistent with a net increase of $35.9 million in authorities available for use for the year ending March 31, 2012 which relates to sunset funding to prepare for and implement the reform of Canada's refugee determination system under the Balanced Refugee Reform Act. The increase in expenditures over the same quarter of the previous year consists primarily in personnel costs (29% increase) and in professional and special services costs (47% increase). Second quarter expenditures represent 24% of total authorities available for use compared to 24% spent in the same period in the previous year.

Second Quarter Expenditures Compared to Annual Authorities
Graph representing the second quarter expenditures compared to the annual authorities

[Alternate format]

The image illustrates a graphic. The vertical axis is dollars in millions and the horizontal axis is the fiscal years 2011-2012 and 2010-2011.

  • For fiscal year 2011-2012, the first column indicate the total authorities of 153.0 millions and the second column the expenditures of 36.9 millions.
  • For fiscal year 2010-2012, the first column indicate the total authorities of 117.1 millions and the second column the expenditures of 28.0 millions.

Risks and Uncertainties

The IRB is funded through annual appropriations. As a result, its operations are impacted by any changes in funding approved through Parliament. In addition, the IRB's operations are affected by the intake of new immigration and refugee cases.

Budget 2010 announced that the operating budgets of departments would be frozen at their 2010-2011 levels for the fiscal years 2011-2012 and 2012-2013. Consequently, increases in expenditures related to personnel costs and other operating expenditures have to be managed within the allocated budget. In addition, a Strategic Review was conducted resulting in net budget reduction of $ 5.7M over fiscal years 2010-2011, 2011-2012 and 2012-2013 to the Refugee Protection, the Admissibility Hearings and Detention Reviews and the Internal Services program activities. The impact on departmental activities has been managed through the following actions and mitigation strategies:

  • Increases in personnel costs due to collective agreements are absorbed through attrition due to retirements or other reasons; and
  • Increases to other operating costs are managed through reallocation of budgets from lower to higher priority items.

Significant changes in relation to operations, personnel and program

The operations of the IRB are impacted in 2011-2012 due to the preparation for the reform of Canada's refugee determination system under the Balanced Refugee Reform Act. Net authorities for the Board have increased by $35.9M over the previous year primarily to provide transition funding to implement changes to the refugee determination system. The implementation of the new refugee determination system will result in a new process from the point of claim to the first level hearing at the Refugee Protection Division by public servant decision-makers and the second level appeal at the Refugee Appeal Division by Governor in Council (GIC) appointees. This second level appeal results in the creation of a new program activity, the Refugee Appeal. The incremental funding will enable the IRB to develop new rules and instructions for the reformed system; implement staffing and procurement actions as required for public servants and GICs; develop communication materials with regards to the new process; finalize requisite systems changes, fit up of space, develop training material and train decision-makers and staff.

Approval by Senior Officials

Approved by:

Ken Sandhu,
Acting Chairperson
Serge Gascon,
Chief Financial Officer

Ottawa, Canada
November 29, 2011


Statement of Authorities (unaudited)
Fiscal year 2011-2012 (in thousands of dollars)
Total available for use for the year ending
March 31, 2012 Note1
Used during the quarter ended
September 30, 2011
Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 10 – Net Operating expenditures 136,541 32,785 58,681
Budgetary statutory authorities 16,459 4,115 8,231
Total authorities 153,000 36,900 66,912
Statement of Authorities (unaudited)
Fiscal year 2010-2011 (in thousands of dollars)
Total available for use for the year ending
March 31, 2011 Note1
Used during the quarter ended
September 30, 2010
Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 10 – Net Operating expenditures 103,924 24,734 47,038
Budgetary statutory authorities 13,136 3,284 6,568
Total authorities 117,060 28,018 53,606

More information is available in the attached table.

Notes

Note 1

Includes only Authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end.

Return to first note 1 referrer

Return to second note 1 referrer

Departmental budgetary expenditures
by Standard Object (unaudited)
Fiscal year 2011-2012 (in thousands of dollars)
Expenditures Planned expenditures for the year ending
March 31, 2012
Expended during the quarter ended
September 30, 2011
Year to date used at quarter-end
Personnel 107,901 30,027 55,103
Transportation and communications 3,530 1,003 1,834
Information 92 37 48
Professional and special services 29,032 5,034 7,975
Rentals 1,037 (7) 163
Repair and maintenance 6,048 375 1,057
Utilities, materials and supplies 1,109 164 327
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 4,149 265 401
Other subsidies and payments 102 2 4
Total net budgetary expenditures 153,000 36,900 66,912
Departmental budgetary expenditures
by Standard Object (unaudited)
Fiscal year 2010-2011 (in thousands of dollars)
Expenditures Planned expenditures for the year ending
March 31, 2011
Expended during the quarter ended
September 30, 2010
Year to date used at quarter-end
Personnel 90,405 23,220 44,699
Transportation and communication 3,937 724 1,433
Information 295 2 3
Professional and special services 18,463 3,425 5,784
Rentals 614 200 413
Repair and maintenance 1,110 184 873
Utilities, materials and supplies 1,048 163 250
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 887 86 119
Other subsidies and paymentss 301 14 32
Total net budgetary expenditures 117,060 28,018 53,606

Rapport financier trimestriel pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2011

Compte rendu soulignant les résultats, les risques et les changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et au programme

Introduction

Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction tel qu'exigé par l'article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, et selon la présentation prescrite par le Conseil du Trésor. Ce rapport devrait être lu de concert avec le Budget principal des dépenses. Le rapport n'a pas fait l'objet d'une vérification externe ou d'un examen.

La Commission de l'immigration et du statut de réfugié du Canada (CISR) est un tribunal administratif indépendant créé le 1er janvier 1989 par une modification à la Loi sur l'immigration. En 2002, la Loi sur l'immigration a été remplacée par la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés (LIPR), dont est tiré le mandat de chaque section de la CISR.

La mission de la CISR consiste à régler, de manière efficace, équitable et conforme à la loi, au nom des Canadiens, les cas d'immigration et de statut de réfugié.

La CISR compte quatre activités de programme : Protection des réfugiés, Appels en matière d'immigration, Enquêtes et contrôles des motifs de détention ainsi que Services internes. L'activité de programme Services internes appuie les trois autres activités.

Une description sommaire des activités de la CISR peut être trouvée dans la Partie II du Budget des dépenses (PDF, 2.33 Mo).

Méthode de présentation du rapport

Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction en se basant sur une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L'état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser de la CISR accordées par le Parlement et celles utilisées par la CISR, concordant avec le Budget principal des dépenses pour l'exercice 2011-2012. Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé en se servant d'un cadre de présentation de rapports financiers à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d'information financière à l'égard de l'utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut dépenser sans l'autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées par l'entremise de lois de crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles, par l'entremise de lois sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

La CISR utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice intégrale pour la préparation et la présentation de ses états financiers annuels qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement ministériel. Toutefois, les autorisations de dépenser votées par le Parlement sont encore en fonction d'une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

Les dépenses du trimestre de la CISR sont semblables aux dépenses de l'exercice précédent. L'importante augmentation de 32 % par rapport à la même période de l'exercice précédent est attribuable à un niveau de dépenses engagées en vue de la préparation pour la mise en œuvre de la Loi sur des mesures de réforme équitables concernant les réfugiés (LMRER), compensées partiellement par les réductions budgétaires découlant de la première ronde de l'Examen stratégique du gouvernement. Cette augmentation des dépenses concorde avec l'augmentation nette de 35,9 M$ en crédits budgétaires disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012, qui se rapporte au financement temporaire pour la préparation et la mise en œuvre de la réforme du système de l'octroi de l'asile du Canada sous le régime de la LMRER. L'augmentation des dépenses par rapport à la période équivalente de l'exercice précédent se compose principalement de frais de personnel (augmentation de 29 %) et de frais de services professionnels et spéciaux (augmentation de 47 %). Les dépenses du deuxième trimestre représentent 24 % des crédits totaux disponibles, comparativement à 24 % pour la même période au cours de l'exercice précédent.

Dépenses du deuxième trimestre en proportion des crédits annuels
Graphique représentant les dépenses du deuxième trimestre en proportion des crédits annuels

[Format alternatif]

L'image illustre un graphique. L'axe vertical représente les dollars en millions et l'axe horizontal représente les exercices financiers 2011-2012 et 2010-2011.

  • Pour l'exercice financier 2011-2012, la première colonne représente les crédits de 153,0 millions et la deuxième représente les dépenses de 36,9 millions.
  • Pour l'exercice financier 2010-2011, la première colonne représente les crédits de 117,1 millions et la deuxième colonne représente les dépenses de 28,0 millions.

Risques and incertitudes

La CISR est tributaire des fonds reçus au moyen de crédits annuels. Par conséquent, ses activités sont touchées par tout changement en matière de financement approuvé par le Parlement. De plus, les activités de la CISR sont touchées par l'apport de nouveaux cas en matière d'immigration et de demandes d'asile.

Dans le Budget 2010, il a été annoncé que les budgets de fonctionnement des ministères ou organismes seraient gelés aux niveaux de 2010-2011 pour les années 2011-2012 et 2012-2013. En conséquence, les augmentations de dépenses liées aux frais de personnel et autres frais de fonctionnement doivent être gérées à l'intérieur d'un budget alloué. De plus, un examen stratégique a été effectué ayant comme résultat une réduction budgétaire nette de 5,7 M$ pour les exercices 2010-2011, 2011-2012 et 2012-2013 aux activités Protection des réfugiés, Enquêtes et contrôles des motifs de détention et Services internes. Les répercussions de ces réductions sur ces activités ont été gérées par l'entremise des mesures et des stratégies d'atténuation suivantes :

  • Les augmentations en frais de personnel occasionnées par les conventions collectives sont absorbées du fait de l'attrition qui se produit en raison de retraites ou des autres départs.
  • Les augmentations liées aux autres frais de fonctionnement sont gérées par la réaffectation des ressources d'éléments de moindre priorité à d'autres de priorité élevée.

Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et au programme

Les activités de la CISR sont affectées en 2011 2012 en raison des préparations à la réforme du système d'octroi de l'asile du Canada sous le régime de la LMRER. Les autorisations nettes de la CISR ont augmenté de 35,9 M$ par rapport à l'exercice précédent, principalement pour financer la transition vers le nouveau système d'octroi de l'asile. La mise en œuvre du nouveau système d'octroi de l'asile donnera lieu à un nouveau processus : de la présentation de la demande d'asile jusqu'à l'instruction de celle-ci au premier palier d'audience à la Section de la protection des réfugiés par des décideurs fonctionnaires et d'un appel au second palier à la Section d'appel des réfugiés instruit par des personnes nommées par décret. Cet appel au second palier entraîne la création d'une nouvelle activité de programme, Appels des réfugiés. Le financement supplémentaire permettra à la CISR d'élaborer de nouvelles règles et instructions pour le nouveau système; de mettre en œuvre des mesures de dotation et d'acquisition, au besoin, pour les fonctionnaires et les personnes nommées par décret; d'élaborer du matériel de communication concernant le nouveau processus; d'achever les modifications nécessaires pour les systèmes, de procéder à l'aménagement des locaux et de rédiger du matériel de formation et former les décideurs et le personnel.

Approbation des cadres supérieurs

Approuvé par :

Ken Sandhu,
président par intérim
Serge Gascon,
agent financier principal

Ottawa, Canada
29 novembre 2011


État des autorisations (non vérifié)
Exercice 2011-2012 (en milliers de dollars)
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012 Note1 Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2011 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 10 – Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 136 541 32 785 58 681
Autorisations législatives budgétaires 16 459 4 115 8 231
Autorisations totales 153 000 36 900 66 912
État des autorisations (non vérifié)
Exercice 2010-2011 (en milliers de dollars)
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2011 Note1 Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2010 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 10 – Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 103 924 24 734 47 038
Autorisations législatives budgétaires 13 136 3 284 6 568
Autorisations totales 117 060 28 018 53 606

De l'information supplémentaire est fournie dans le tableau ci-joint.

Notes

Note 1

N'inclut que les Autorisations disponibles pour l'exercice et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.

Return to first note 1 referrer

Return to second note 1 referrer

Dépenses ministérielles budgétaire par article courant (non vérifié)
Exercice 2011-2012 (en milliers de dollars)
Dépenses Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012 Dépensées durant le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2011 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Personnel 107 901 30 027 55 103
Transports et communications 3 530 1 003 1 834
Information 92 37 48
Services professionels et spéciaux 29 032 5 034 7 975
Location 1 037 (7) 163
Services de réparation et d'entretien 6 048 375 1 057
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 1 109 164 327
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 4 149 265 401
Autres subventions et paiements 102 2 4
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 153 000 36 900 66 912
Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifié)
Exercice 2010-2011 (en milliers de dollars)
Dépenses Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2011 Dépensées durant le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2010 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Personnel 90 405 23 220 44 699
Transports et communications 3 937 724 1 433
Information 295 2 3
Services professionels et spéciaux 18 463 3 425 5 784
Location 614 200 413
Services de réparation et d'entretien 1 110 184 873
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 1 048 163 250
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 887 86 119
Autres subventions et paiements 301 14 32
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 117 060 28 018 53 606