Future-Oriented Financial Statements 2011-12

Printable version (PDF, 74 KB)

Statement of Management Responsibility

Departmental management is responsible for these future-oriented financial statements, including responsibility for the appropriateness of the assumptions on which these statements are prepared. These statements are based on the best information available and assumptions adopted as at November 30, 2010 and reflect the plans described in the Report on Plans and Priorities.

In accordance with the Treasury Board Secretariat's Policy on Internal Audit, the Immigration and Refugee Board (the IRB) established a Departmental Audit Committee which includes external members. Its role is to provide the IRB Chairperson with added assurance and advice on risk management, control and governance processes.

Brian Goodman,
Chairperson
Serge Gascon,
Chief Financial Officer

Ottawa, Canada
January 17, 2011


Future-oriented Statement of Operations
For the Year Ending March 31 (in thousands of dollars)
Expenses Estimated
Results
2011
Forecast
2012
Refugee Protection 79,969 78,283
Immigration Appeal 16,273 17,592
Admissibility Hearings & Detention Reviews 13,844 15,643
Refugee Appeal 0 14,891
Internal Services 38,157 42,874
Net cost of operations 148,243 169,283

Segmented information (Note 8)
The accompanying notes form an integral part of these future-oriented financial statements.


Notes to Future-oriented Financial Statements
For the Year Ending March 31

1.  Authority and Objectives

The Immigration and Refugee Board (the IRB) is an independent administrative tribunal that was created on January 1, 1989, by an amendment to the Immigration Act. In 2002, the Immigration Act was replaced by the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act (IRPA) from which each IRB division gets its mandate. The mission of the IRB is to resolve immigration and refugee cases efficiently, fairly and in accordance with the law on behalf of Canadians. As an independent tribunal, the IRB's mandate is to:

Refugee Protection Program Activity:
Renders quality decisions and otherwise resolves cases in a timely manner regarding:

  • Refugee protection claims made by persons in Canada
  • Pre-removal risk assessments of persons subject to a removal order (1)

Refugee Appeal Program Activity (2):
Renders quality decisions and otherwise resolves cases in a timely manner regarding:

  • Appeals against a decision made on a Refugee protection claim of the Refugee protection Division

Admissibility Hearings and Detention Reviews Program Activity:
Renders quality decisions and otherwise resolves cases in a timely manner regarding:

  • Admissibility of foreign nationals or permanent residents who are alleged to be inadmissible to Canada pursuant to the provision of the IRPA
  • Detention reviews for foreign nationals or permanent residents who are detained under the IRPA

Immigration Appeal Program Activity:
Renders quality decisions and otherwise resolves cases in a timely manner regarding:

  • Sponsorship applications refused by CIC
  • Certain removal orders made against permanent residents, refugees and other protected persons, and holders of permanent resident visa
  • Permanent residents who have been found outside of Canada not to have fulfilled their residency obligation
  • Appeals by the Minister of Public Safety of ID decisions at admissibility hearings

(1)  When transferred from CIC, see page 15 of the Report on Plans and Priorities for more details.
(2)  When proclaimed, see page 17 of the Report on Plans and Priorities for more details.

2.  Significant Assumptions

The future-oriented financial statements have been prepared on the basis of the government priorities and the plans of the IRB as described in the Report on Plans and Priorities.

The main assumptions are as follows:

  1. Expenses of the program activities not affected by the Balanced Refugee Reform Act (BRRA), including the determination of amounts internal and external to the government, are based on historical experience. The general historical pattern is expected to continue.
  2. Expenses of the program activities affected by the BRRA, reflect transitional and new spending to prepare for and implement the reform to Canada's refugee determination system which is expected to come into force in late 2011.
  3. Forecasted year end information for 2010-11 is used as the opening position for the 2011-12 forecasts.

These assumptions are adopted as at November 30, 2010.

3.  Variations and Changes to the Forecast Financial Information

While every attempt has been made to accurately forecast final results for the year 2010-11 and for the year 2011-12, actual results achieved for both years are likely to vary from the forecast information presented, and this variation could be material.

In preparing these financial statements the IRB has made estimates and assumptions concerning the future. These estimates and judgments may differ from the subsequent actual results. Estimates and judgments are continually evaluated and are based on historical experience and other factors, including expectations of future events that are believed to be reasonable under the circumstances.

Factors that could lead to material differences between the future-oriented financial statements and the historical financial statements include:

  1. The coming into force date of the BRRA which can come into force no later than June 29, 2012.
  2. The timing and amounts of acquisitions and disposals of equipment or, accommodation fit up required to prepare for the reform to Canada's refugee determination system, may affect gains/losses and amortization expense.
  3. Further changes to the operating budget through additional new initiatives or technical adjustments later in the year.

Once the Report on Plans and Priorities is presented, the IRB will not be updating the forecasts for any changes to appropriations or forecast financial information made in ensuing supplementary estimates. Variances will be explained in the Departmental Performance Report.

4.  Summary of Significant Accounting Policies

The future-oriented statements have been prepared in accordance with the Treasury Board accounting policies stated below, which are based on Canadian generally accepted accounting principles for the public sector. The presentation and results using the stated accounting policies do not result in any significant differences from Canadian generally accepted accounting principles.

Significant accounting policies are as follows:

  1. Parliamentary appropriations – the IRB is financed by the Government of Canada through Parliamentary appropriations. The cash accounting basis is used to recognize transactions affecting parliamentary appropriations. The future-oriented financial statements are based on accrual accounting. Consequently, items presented in the Future-oriented Statement of Operations are not necessarily the same as those provided through appropriations from Parliament. Note 5 provides a reconciliation between the bases of reporting.
  2. Net Cash Provided by Government – The IRB operates within the Consolidated Revenue Fund (CRF), which is administered by the Receiver General for Canada. All cash received by the IRB is deposited to the CRF and all cash disbursements made by the IRB are paid from the CRF. The net cash provided by Government is the difference between all cash receipts and all cash disbursements including transactions between departments of the Government.
  3. Expenses – Expenses are presented on an accrual basis:
    • Vacation pay and compensatory leave are accrued as the benefits are earned by employees under their respective terms of employment.
    • Services provided without charge by other government departments for accommodation and employer contributions to the health and dental insurance plans are recorded as operating expenses at their estimated cost.
  4. Employee future benefits
    1. Pension benefits: Eligible employees participate in the Public Service Pension Plan, a multiemployer pension plan administered by the Government. The IRB's contributions to the Plan are charged to expenses in the year incurred and represent the total obligation of the IRB to the Plan. Current legislation does not require the IRB to make contributions for any actuarial deficiencies of the Plan.
    2. Severance benefits: Employees are entitled to severance benefits under labour contracts or conditions of employment. These benefits are accrued as employees render the services necessary to earn them. The obligation relating to the benefits earned by employees is calculated using information derived from the results of the actuarially determined liability for employee severance benefits for the Government as a whole.
  5. Tangible capital assets – All tangible capital assets and leasehold improvements having an initial cost of $10,000 or more are recorded at their acquisition cost.

    Amortization of tangible capital assets is done on a straight-line basis over the estimated useful life of the asset as follows:

    Amortization of Tangible Capital Assets
    Asset class Amortization Period
    Informatics hardware 4 years
    Informatics software 5 years
    Machinery and Equipment 10 years
    Leasehold improvements Term of lease

    Assets under construction are recorded in the applicable capital asset class in the year that they become available for use and are not amortized until they become available for use.

5.  Parliamentary Appropriations

The IRB receives its funding through expenditure authorities provided by Parliament. Items recognized in the statement of operations in one year may be funded through Parliamentary authorities in prior, current or future years. Accordingly, the IRB has different net results of operations for the year on a government funding basis than on an accrual accounting basis. The differences are reconciled in the following tables:

(a)  Authorities requested (in thousand of dollars)
Authorities requested Estimated
Results
2011
Forecast
2012
Vote 10 - Operating expenditures 118,586 136,541
Statutory amounts 13,136 16,460
Forecast authorities available 131,722 153,001

Forecast authorities requested for the year ending March 31, 2012 are the planned spending amounts presented in the 2011-12 Report on Plans and Priorities. Estimated authorities requested for the year ending March 31 2011 include amounts presented in the 2010-11 Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates (A) and (B), planned for presentation in Supplementary Estimates (C) and estimates of amounts to be allocated at year-end from Treasury Board central votes.

(b)  Reconciliation of net cost of operations to requested authorities (in thousand of dollars):
Estimated
Results
2011
Forecast
2012
Net cost of operations 148,243 169,283
Adjustments for items affecting net cost of operations but not affecting authorities:
Services provided without charge by other government departments (Note 7) (22,137) (23,907)
Amortization of tangible capital assets (1,037) (2,424)
Increase in employee future benefits (Note 6) (5,024) (2,124)
Increase in vacation pay and compensatory leave (403) (424)
(28,601) (28,879)
Adjustments for items not affecting net cost of operations but affecting authorities:
Acquisitions of tangible capital assets 7,344 12,597
7,344 12,597
Estimated surplus 4,736 -
Forecast authorities available 131,722 153,001

6.  Employee future benefits

(a)  Pension benefits

The IRB's employees participate in the Public Service Pension Plan, which is sponsored and administered by the Government of Canada. Pension benefits accrue up to a maximum period of 35 years at a rate of 2 percent per year of pensionable service, times the average of the best five consecutive years of earnings. The benefits are integrated with Canada/Québec Pension Plans benefits and they are indexed to inflation.

The IRB's responsibility with regard to the Plan is limited to its contributions. Actuarial surpluses or deficiencies are recognized in the financial statements of the Government of Canada, as the Plan's sponsor.

(b)  Severance benefits

The IRB provides severance benefits to its employees based on eligibility, years of service and final salary. These severance benefits are not pre-funded. Benefits will be paid from future appropriations. Information about the severance benefits, estimated as at the date of these statements, is as follows:

Severance Benefits (in thousand of dollars)
Estimated
Results
2011
Forecast
2012
Accrued benefit obligation, beginning of the year 17,961 22,985
Expense for the year 5,024 2,124
Accrued benefit obligation, end of the year 22,985 25,109

7.  Related Party Transactions

The IRB is related as a result of common ownership to all Government of Canada departments, agencies, and Crown Corporations. The IRB enters into transactions with these entities in the normal course of business and on normal trade terms.

(a)  Common services provided without charge by other government departments

During the year, the IRB is forecasted to receive without charge from other departments, accommodation and the employer's contribution to the health and dental insurance plans. These services provided without charge have been recognized in the IRB's future-oriented Statement of Operations as follows:

Future-Oriented Statement of Operations (in thousand of dollars)
Estimated
Results
2011
Forecast
2012
Accommodation 15,322 16,462
Employer's contribution to the health and dental insurance plans 6,815 7,445
Total 22,137 23,907

The Government has structured some of its administrative activities for efficiency and cost-effectiveness purposes so that one department performs these on behalf of all without charge. The costs of these services, which include payroll and cheque issuance services provided by Public Works and Government Services Canada and audit services provided by the Office of the Auditor General, are not included as an expense in the IRB's Statement of Operations.

8.  Segmented information (in thousand of dollars)

Segmented Operating Expenses
Operating expenses 2011 2012
Total RP IA AHDR RA IS Total
Salaries and employee benefits 108,701 53,373 12,484 8,241 11,101 30,311 115,510
Professional and special services 13,268 12,608 2,734 5,043 506 3,976 24,867
Accommodation 15,322 7,737 1,811 1,152 1,482 4,280 16,462
Transportation and telecommunications 4,359 1,350 343 421 367 1,049 3,530
Acquisition of equipment 1,088 649 7 68 672 1,041 2,437
Amortization 1,037 1,766 7 191 149 311 2,424
Repair and maintenance 2,149 196 49 4 192 1,272 1,713
Utilities, materials and supplies 907 399 51 80 230 349 1,109
Rentals 1,149 179 26 440 192 200 1,037
Information 141 12 2 3 0 75 92
Other 122 14 78 0 0 10 102
Total operating expenses 148,243 78,283 17,592 15,643 14,891 42,874 169,283
Net cost of operations 148,243 78,283 17,592 15,643 14,891 42,874 169,283

Table Legend:

RP: Refugee Protection
IA: Immigration Appeal
AHDR: Admissibility Hearings and Detention Reviews
RA: Refugee Appeal
IS: Internal Services

États financiers prospectifs - Exercises se terminant les 31 mars 2011 et 2012

Version imprimable (PDF, 77 Ko)

Déclaration de responsabilité de la direction

La direction est responsable de la préparation de ces états financiers prospectifs, y compris du caractère approprié des hypothèses qui les sous-tendent. Ces états financiers sont fondés sur les meilleures informations disponibles. Les hypothèses ont été adoptées en date du 30 novembre 2010 et cadrent avec les plans décrits dans le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités.

Conformément à la politique du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor sur la vérification interne, la Commission de l’immigration et du statut de réfugié (CISR) a mis en place un Comité ministériel de vérification qui comprend des membres externes. Son rôle est de fournir au président de la CISR une assurance et des conseils sur la gestion de risques et les processus de contrôle et de gouvernance.

Brian Goodman,
président
Serge Gascon,
dirigeant principal des finances

Ottawa, Canada
17 janvier 2011


État des résultats prospectif
pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars
(en milliers de dollars)
Résultats
estimatifs
2011
Prévisions
2012
Charges
Protection des réfugiés 79 969 78 283
Appels en matière d’immigration 16 273 17 592
Enquêtes et contrôles des motifs de détention 13 844 15 643
Appels des réfugiés 0 14 891
Services internes 38 157 42 874
Coût de fonctionnement net 148 243 169 283
État des résultats prospectif
pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars
(en milliers de dollars)
Résultats
estimatifs
2011
Prévisions
2012
Charges
Protection des réfugiés 79 969 78 283
Appels en matière d’immigration 16 273 17 592
Enquêtes et contrôles des motifs de détention 13 844 15 643
Appels des réfugiés 0 14 891
Services internes 38 157 42 874
Coût de fonctionnement net 148 243 169 283

Informations sectorielles (note 8)
Les notes complémentaires font partie intégrante des états financiers prospectifs.


Notes complémentaires aux états financiers prospectifs
pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars

1.  Pouvoir et objectifs

La Commission de l’immigration et du statut de réfugié (CISR) est un tribunal administratif indépendant qui a été créé le 1er janvier 1989, par une modification à la Loi sur l’immigration. En 2002, la Loi sur l’immigration a été remplacée par la Loi sur l’immigration et la protection des réfugiés (LIPR), dont est tiré le mandat de chaque section de la CISR. La mission de la CISR consiste à régler, de manière efficace, équitable et conforme à la loi, au nom des Canadiens, les cas d’immigration et de statut de réfugié. À titre de tribunal indépendant, le mandat de la CISR est de:

Activité de programme : Protection des réfugiés:
Rendre des décisions de qualité et régler autrement en temps opportun des cas en ce qui concerne :

  • des demandes d’asile présentées par des personnes au Canada
  • l’examen des risques avant renvoi de personnes frappées d’une mesure de renvoi (1)

Activité de programme : Appels des réfugiés (2)
Rendre des décisions de qualité et régler autrement en temps opportun des cas en ce qui concerne :

  • les appels interjetés contre une décision rendue par la Section de la protection des réfugiés relative à une demande d’asile

Activité de programme : Enquêtes et contrôles des motifs de détention
Rendre des décisions de qualité et régler autrement en temps opportun des cas en ce qui concerne :

  • l’admissibilité d’étrangers ou de résidents permanents qui sont présumés interdits de territoire au Canada suivant les dispositions de la LIPR
  • le contrôle des motifs de détention des étrangers ou des résidents permanents détenus en vertu de la LIPR

Activité de programme : Appels en matière d’immigration
Rendre des décisions de qualité et régler autrement en temps opportun des cas en ce qui concerne :

  • les demandes de parrainage refusées par Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada (CIC)
  • certaines mesures de renvoi prises contre des résidents permanents, des réfugiés et d’autres personnes protégées ainsi que des titulaires d’un visa de résident permanent
  • les résidents permanents au sujet desquels on a conclu, hors du Canada, qu’ils n’ont pas rempli leur obligation de résidence
  • les appels du ministre de la sécurité publique des décisions rendues par la Section de l’immigration prises dans le cadre d’enquêtes.

(1)  Lorsque cette responsabilité aura été transférée de CIC. Consultez la page 15 du Rapport sur les plans et les priorités pour plus de détails.
(2)  Lorsqu’elle aura été créée. Consultez la page 17 du Rapport sur les plans et les priorités.

2.  Hypothèses importantes

Les états financiers prospectifs ont été établis en fonction des priorités du gouvernement et des plans de la CISR qui sont décrits dans le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités.

Les principales hypothèses utilisées sont :

  1. Les charges pour les activités de programme non touchées par la Loi sur des mesures de réforme équitables concernant les réfugiés (LMRER), y compris la détermination des montants de sources internes et externes au gouvernement, sont basées sur l’expérience acquise. L’évolution générale historique devrait se poursuivre.
  2. Les charges pour les activités de programme touchées par LMRER, reflètent les dépenses de transition et les nouvelles dépenses pour préparer et mettre en œuvre la réforme du système canadien de détermination du statut de réfugié qui devrait entrer en vigueur à la fin de 2011.
  3. L’information estimative de fin d’exercice pour 2010-2011 représente la situation financière d’ouverture pour établir les prévisions de 2011-2012.

Ces hypothèses sont adoptées en date du 30 novembre 2010.

3.  Variation et évolution des prévisions financières

Même si tous les efforts ont été déployés pour prévoir avec exactitude les résultats définitifs pour les exercices 2010-2011 et 2011-2012, les résultats réels des deux exercices risquent de varier par rapport aux prévisions financières présentées, et cet écart pourrait être important.

Lors de la préparation de ces états financiers, la CISR a établi des estimations et des hypothèses à l’égard d’événements futurs. Ces estimations et jugements pourraient différer des résultats financiers réels subséquents. Les estimations et les jugements sont évalués de façon continue et sont fondés sur l’expérience acquise et d’autres facteurs, notamment les prévisions relativement aux événements futurs qui sont considérées comme raisonnables compte tenu des circonstances.

Les facteurs qui pourraient donner lieu à des écarts importants entre les états financiers prospectifs et les états financiers historiques sont notamment :

  1. La date d'entrée en vigueur de la LMRER qui doit entrer en vigueur au plus tard le 29 juin 2012.
  2. Le moment et le montant des acquisitions et des aliénations de matériel ou de l’aménagement des installations nécessaires pour se préparer à la réforme du système de protection des réfugiés du Canada peuvent avoir une influence sur les gains/pertes ainsi que sur les charges d’amortissement.
  3. Des modifications supplémentaires au budget de fonctionnement, grâce à de nouvelles initiatives ou ajustements techniques mis en œuvre plus tard au courant de l’exercice.

Une fois que le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités est présenté, la CISR ne mettra pas à jour les prévisions, quelles que soient les modifications apportées aux crédits ou aux prévisions financières dans les budgets supplémentaires. Les écarts seront expliqués dans le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement.

4.  Sommaire des principales conventions comptables

Ces états financiers prospectifs ont été préparés conformément aux conventions comptables du Conseil du Trésor énoncés ci-après, lesquelles s'appuient sur les principes comptables généralement reconnus du Canada pour le secteur public. La présentation et les résultats qui découlent de l'utilisation des conventions comptables énoncées ne donnent lieu à aucune différence importante par rapport aux principes comptables généralement reconnus au Canada.

Les principales conventions comptables sont les suivantes :

  1. Crédits parlementaires — La CISR est financé par le gouvernement du Canada au moyen de crédits parlementaires. Les opérations touchant les crédits parlementaires sont comptabilisés selon la méthode de la comptabilité de caisse. Les états financiers prospectifs sont établis selon la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice.  Par conséquent, les postes consignés dans l'état des résultats prospectif ne sont pas nécessairement les mêmes que ceux correspondant aux crédits parlementaires. La note 5 présente un rapprochement entre les deux méthodes de comptabilisation.
  2. Encaisse nette fournie par le gouvernement — La CISR fonctionne au moyen du Trésor, qui est administré par le receveur général du Canada. La totalité de l'encaisse reçue par la CISR est déposée au Trésor, et tous les décaissements faits par la CISR sont prélevés sur le Trésor. L'encaisse nette fournie par le gouvernement est la différence entre toutes les entrées de fonds et toutes les sorties de fonds, y compris les opérations entre les ministères au sein du gouvernement fédéral.
  3. Charges — Les charges sont constatées selon la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice.
    • Les indemnités de vacances et de congés compensatoires sont passées en charges au fur et à mesure que les employés en acquièrent les droits en vertu de leurs conditions d'emploi.
    • Les services fournis gratuitement par d'autres ministères pour les locaux et les cotisations de l'employeur aux régimes de soins de santé et de soins dentaires sont comptabilisés à titre de charges de fonctionnement à leur coût estimatif.
  4. Avantages sociaux futurs
    1. Prestations de retraite : Les employés admissibles participent au Régime de retraite de la fonction publique, un régime multiemployeurs administré par le gouvernement du Canada. Les cotisations de la CISR au régime sont passées en charges dans l'exercice au cours duquel elles sont engagées et elles représentent l'obligation totale de la CISR découlant du régime. En vertu des dispositions législatives en vigueur, la CISR n'est pas tenu de verser des cotisations au titre de l'insuffisance actuarielle du régime.
    2. Indemnités de départ : Les employés ont droit à des indemnités de départ, prévues dans leurs conventions collectives ou conditions d'emploi. Le coût de ces indemnités s'accumule à mesure que les employés rendent les services y donnant droit. Le coût des avantages sociaux gagnés par les employés est calculé à l'aide de l'information tirée des résultats du passif déterminé sur une base actuarielle au titre des prestations de départ pour l'ensemble du gouvernement.
  5. Immobilisations corporelles — Toutes les immobilisations corporelles et les améliorations locatives dont le coût initial est d'au moins $ 10 000 sont comptabilisées à leur coût d'achat.

    Les immobilisations corporelles sont amorties selon la méthode linéaire sur la durée de vie utile estimative de l'immobilisation, comme suit :

    Immobilisations corporelles
    Catégorie d'immobilisations Période d'amortissement
    Matériel informatique 4 ans
    Logiciels informatiques 5 ans
    Matériel et outillage 10 ans
    Améliorations locatives Durée du bail

    Les immobilisations en cours de construction sont constatées dans la catégorie d’immobilisations correspondante au cours de l'exercice où elles sont prêtes à être mises en service et leur amortissement doit commencer dès qu’elles sont prêtes à être mises en service.

5.  Crédits parlementaires

La CISR reçoit son financement au moyen de crédits parlementaires annuels.  Les éléments comptabilisés dans l'état des résultats d'un exercice peuvent être financés au moyen de crédits parlementaires qui ont été autorisés dans un exercice précédent, pendant l'exercice en cours ou qui le seront dans un  exercice futur. En conséquence, les résultats de fonctionnement nets de la CISR diffèrent selon qu’ils sont présentés selon le financement octroyé par le gouvernement ou selon la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice. Les différences sont rapprochées dans les tableaux suivants :

(a)  Autorisations demandées (en milliers de dollars)
Résultats
estimatifs
2011
Prévisions
2012
Autorisations demandées :
Crédit 10 118 586 136 541
Montants législatifs 13 136 16 460
Autorisations disponibles prévues 131 722 153 001

Les autorisations demandées prévues pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012 représentent les montants des dépenses prévues inscrits dans le Rapport sur les plans et priorités de 2011-2012. Les autorisations demandées estimatives pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2011 comprennent les montants présentés dans le Budget des dépenses et les Budgets supplémentaires des dépenses (A) et (B) de 2010-2011, et ceux qui doivent être présentés dans le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (C) et les montants estimatifs, à la fin de l’exercice, des affectations des crédits centraux du Conseil du Trésor.

(b) Rapprochement du coût de fonctionnement net et des autorisations demandées (en milliers de dollars)
Résultats
estimatifs
2011
Prévisions
2012
Coût de fonctionnement net 148 243 169 283
Rajustements pour les postes ayant une incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais n’ayant pas d’incidence sur les autorisations :
Services fournis gratuitement par d’autres ministères
(note 7)
(22 137) (23 907)
Amortissement des immobilisations corporelles (1 037) (2 424)
Augmentation des avantages sociaux futurs (note 6) (5 024) (2 124)
Augmentation des indemnités de vacances et congés compensatoires (403) (424)
(28 601) (28 879)
Rajustements pour les postes n’ayant pas d’incidence sur
le coût de fonctionnement net, mais ayant une incidence sur les autorisations :
Acquisition d’immobilisations corporelles 7 344 12 597
7 344 12 597
Surplus estimé 4 736 0
Autorisations disponibles prévues 131 722 153 001

6.  Avantages sociaux futurs

(a)  Prestations de retraite

Les employés de la CISR participent au Régime de retraite de la fonction publique, qui est parrainé et administré par le gouvernement du Canada. Les prestations de retraite s'accumulent sur une période maximale de 35 ans au taux de 2 % par année de services validables multiplié par la moyenne des gains des cinq meilleures années consécutives. Les prestations sont intégrées aux prestations du Régime de pensions du Canada et du Régime de rentes du Québec et sont indexées à l'inflation.

La responsabilité de la CISR relative au régime de retraite se limite aux cotisations versées. Les excédents ou les déficits actuariels sont constatés dans les états financiers du gouvernement du Canada, répondant du régime.

(b)  Indemnités de départ

La CISR verse des indemnités de départ aux employés en fonction de l'admissibilité, des années de service et du salaire final. Ces indemnités ne sont pas capitalisées d'avance. Les prestations seront prélevées sur les crédits futurs. Voici des informations sur les indemnités de départ estimatives en date des présents états financiers :

Indemnités de départ (en milliers de dollars)
Résultats
estimatifs
2011
Prévisions
2012
Obligation au titre des prestations constituées, début de l'exercice 17 961 22 985
Charge pour l'exercice 5 024 2 124
Obligation au titre des prestations constituées, fin de l'exercice 22 985 25 109

7.  Opérations entre apparentés

En vertu du principe de propriété commune, la CISR est apparenté à tous les ministères, organismes et sociétés d'État du gouvernement du Canada. La CISR conclut des opérations avec ces entités dans le cours normal de ses activités et selon des modalités commerciales normales.

(a)  Services courants fournis gratuitement par d'autres ministères

Au cours de l'exercice, la CISR prévoit recevoir gratuitement d’autres ministères des services relatifs aux locaux et aux cotisations de l'employeur aux régimes de soins de santé et de soins dentaires. Ces services gratuits ont été constatés comme suit dans l'état des résultats prospectif de la CISR :

Services courants fournis gratuitement par d'autres ministères (en milliers de dollars)
Résultats
estimatifs
2011
Prévisions
2012
Locaux 15 322 16 462
Cotisations de l'employeur aux régimes de soins de santé et de soins dentaires 6 815 7 445
Total 22 137 23 907

Le gouvernement a structuré certaines de ses activités administratives de manière à optimiser l'efficience et l'efficacité de sorte qu’un seul ministère mène certaines activités au nom de tous sans frais. Les coûts de ces services, qui comprennent les services de paye et d'émission des chèques offerts par Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada et les services de vérification offerts par le Bureau du vérificateur général, ne sont pas inclus à titre de charge dans l'état des résultats de la CISR.

8.  Information sectorielle (en milliers de dollars)

Coût de fonctionnement sectoriel
Coût de fonctionnement 2011 2012
Total PR AI ECMD AR SI Total
Charges de fonctionnement
Salaires et avantages sociaux des employés 108 701 53 373 12 484 8 241 11 101 30 311 115 510
Services professionnels et spéciaux 13 268 12 608 2 734 5 043 506 3 976 24 867
Locaux 15 322 7 737 1 811 1 152 1 482 4 280 16 462
Transports et télécommunications 4 359 1 350 343 421 367 1 049 3 530
Acquisition de matériel 1 088 649 7 68 672 1 041 2 437
Amortissement 1 037 1 766 7 191 149 311 2 424
Réparation et entretien 2 149 196 49 4 192 1 272 1 713
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 907 399 51 80 230 349 1 109
Locations 1 149 179 26 440 192 200 1 037
Information 141 12 2 3 0 75 92
Autre 122 14 78 0 0 10 102
Total – Charges de fonctionnement 148 243 78 283 17 592 15 643 14 891 42 874 169 283
Coût de fonctionnement net 148 243 78 283 17 592 15 643 14 891 42 874 169 283

Légende du tableau :

PR : Protection des réfugiés
AI : Appels en matière d’immigration
ECMD : Enquêtes et contrôles des motifs de détention
AR : Appels des réfugiés
SI : Services internes