Code of Conduct for Members of the Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada

December 15, 2012

Table of Content

A. INTRODUCTION

Purpose

  1. The Code establishes the standards of conduct that govern the professional and ethical responsibilities of members of the Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada (IRB) as decision-makers of a quasi-judicial administrative tribunal.
  2. The Code is intended to supplement, and should be read in conjunction with, any applicable conduct requirements that are established from time to time for either public servants or Governor in Council (GIC) appointees, and set out in the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act (the Act) or other legislation, guidelines, codes, policies or other instruments. The Code should also be read in conjunction with any applicable conduct requirements that are established from time to time by professional regulatory bodies.

Application

  1. The Code applies to all full-time and part-time members of the IRB, whether they are public servants appointed under the Public Service Employment Act or GIC appointees.
  2. The Code is effective from December 15, 2012 and replaces all previous versions of the Code of Conduct for Members of the Immigration and Refugee Board.

Scope

  1. The standards of conduct set out in the Code are based on and recognize two fundamental principles: (i) that public confidence and trust in the integrity, objectivity and impartiality of the IRB must be conserved and enhanced; and (ii) that independence in decision-making is required.
  2. The Code is based on the IRB's dedication to the following values - honesty, good faith, fairness, accountability, dignity, respect, transparency, openness, discretion, cultural sensitivity and loyalty.
  3. These standards address members' responsibilities to the tribunal itself, including colleagues and staff, to the parties who appear before them, and to the public.
  4. Members are expected to comply with the standards of conduct set out in the Code. Although the Code cannot anticipate every possible situation, in all cases, members are expected to act honestly and in good faith, in a professional and ethical manner.

Administration

  1. The Chairperson is responsible for the administration of the Code, including any matters regarding its interpretation. Members are accountable to the Chairperson for their compliance with the Code.
  2. Member managers shall promote awareness of and compliance with the Code by members.
  3. Members are encouraged to bring to the Chairperson's attention as soon as practicable the conduct of another member that is not in compliance with the Code, if such conduct may threaten the integrity of the IRB.
  4. Any question regarding the interpretation or application of the Code may be directed by members who are public servants to their Deputy Chairperson, and by members who are GIC appointees to the Director, GIC Secretariat Services, or successor in title.

B. MEMBERS' RESPONSIBILITIES TO THE TRIBUNAL

Compliance with Laws

  1. Members shall comply with the provisions of the Act, all applicable regulations and rules established under the Act, and all other relevant legislation and policy instruments that apply to their work and the work of the IRB.

Consistency

  1. Members, in their decision-making, have a responsibility to support the institutional interest of the IRB in ensuring the consistency of its decisions, while recognizing that no improper influence may be brought to bear upon their adjudicative independence.

Communications

  1. Members shall not disclose or make known any information of a confidential nature that was obtained in their capacity as a member. This means disclosure outside of the IRB to other government departments or agencies or to the general public, as well as disclosure within the IRB to members or staff where such disclosure is not operationally required.
  2. Members shall not communicate with the news media or publicly express any opinion regarding: (i) any matter relating to the work of the IRB; or (ii) any other matter that may create a reasonable apprehension of bias. Inquiries from the media or members of the public shall be referred to the IRB office responsible for communications with external stakeholders.
  3. Subject to the exception noted in section 18, members shall not communicate with other government departments or agencies, or elected officials or their staff, regarding: (i) any matter relating to the work of the IRB; or (ii) any other matter that may create a reasonable apprehension of bias. Inquiries shall be referred to the IRB office responsible for communications with external stakeholders.
  4. Members may communicate with other government departments or agencies regarding a matter relating to the work of the IRB when the communication is carried out in accordance with the member's official duties.
  5. The responsibilities set out in sections 15‑17 do not limit any rights or obligations that members may have or are subject to under any applicable legislation, guideline, code, policy or other instrument.

Expertise

  1. Members have a responsibility to maintain a high level of professional competence and expertise required to fulfil their duties and responsibilities. Members are expected to pursue the development of knowledge and skills related to their work, including participation in ongoing training provided by the IRB.

Collegiality

  1. Members have a responsibility to perform their duties in a manner that fosters collegiality among members and with staff and to treat them with courtesy and respect. Members are expected to assist their colleagues through the respectful exchange of views, information and opinions.

C. MEMBERS' RESPONSIBILITIES TO THE PARTIES

Conduct of Hearings

  1. Members shall conduct hearings in a courteous and respectful manner while ensuring that the proceedings are fair, orderly and efficient.

Natural Justice

  1. Members shall comply with all procedural fairness and natural justice requirements. Members are expected to approach each case with an open mind and, at all times, must be, and must be seen to be, impartial and objective.
  2. Members shall disqualify themselves from any proceeding where they know or reasonably should know that, in the making of the decision, they would be in a conflict of interest, or that their participation may create a reasonable apprehension of bias. In such a case, they shall immediately inform their manager and provide the reason for their self-disqualification.

Equality and Accommodation

  1. Members shall exercise their duties without discrimination. Members must take reasonable measures to accommodate all participants so that they may participate effectively in a proceeding. Members are expected to take into account social and cultural differences and to respect human rights.

Communications with Participants in a Proceeding

  1. Unless permitted under the Act, members shall not communicate directly or indirectly with any party, counsel, witness, interpreter or other non‑IRB participant appearing before them in a proceeding, except in the presence of all parties or their counsel, if such communication may create a reasonable apprehension of bias.
  2. Members shall not, during the course of a proceeding, have any social contact with a party, counsel, witness, interpreter or other non-IRB participant, if such social contact may create a reasonable apprehension of bias.

Decision-Making

  1. Members shall make each decision on the merits of the case, based on thorough preparation, the assessment of evidence properly before the member and the application of the relevant law. The relevant law consists of the Act, the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms, other relevant legislation, regulations, legal principles, including the principles of natural justice, and relevant case law. Decision-making responsibility shall not be delegated.
  2. Members shall not be influenced by extraneous or improper considerations in their decision-making. Members shall make their decisions free from the improper influence of other persons, institutions, interest groups or the political process.
  3. Members are expected to render their reasons in accordance with any standards that may be established by the IRB regarding quality decision-making and timeliness.
  4. Members have a responsibility to consider the privacy interests of individuals in the conduct of proceedings and the writing of decisions, ensuring that decisions contain only the personal information that is necessary to explain the reasoning of the decision.

D. MEMBERS' RESPONSIBILITIES TO THE PUBLIC

Integrity

  1. Members shall conduct themselves with integrity and avoid impropriety, or the appearance of impropriety.

Conflict of Interest

  1. Members shall arrange their private affairs in a manner that will prevent them from being in a conflict of interest, as set out in the applicable legislation, guideline, code, policy or other instrument established for public servants or GIC appointees respectively.

Bias

  1. Members shall conduct themselves in a manner that will not cast doubt on their ability to perform their duties objectively.

Gifts or Other Advantages

  1. Members shall not accept gifts or other advantages, including hospitality or other benefits, as set out in the applicable legislation, guideline, code, policy or other instrument established for public servants or GIC appointees respectively.

Outside Activities

  1. Members may take part in outside activities that are not inconsistent or incompatible with their official duties and responsibilities, or that do not cast doubt on their ability to perform their duties objectively. Outside activities means activities outside of a member's official duties in which they participate in their personal capacity, such as conferences and training seminars, volunteer activities, teaching assignments, non-political fundraising, public speeches and interviews.
  2. Members shall obtain any required prior written approval for such outside activities, as set out in the applicable legislation, guideline, code, policy or other instrument established for public servants or GIC appointees respectively.

Code de déontologie des commissaires de la Commission de l'immigration et du statut de réfugié du Canada

Le 15 décembre 2012

Table of Content

A. INTRODUCTION

Objet

  1. Le Code établit les normes de conduite régissant les responsabilités professionnelles et éthiques des commissaires de la Commission de l'immigration et du statut de réfugié du Canada (CISR) en qualité de décideurs d'un tribunal administratif quasi judiciaire.
  2. Le Code, vise à compléter, et devrait être lu conjointement avec les exigences de conduite applicables aux fonctionnaires et aux personnes nommées par décret (PND) qui sont énoncées dans la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés (la Loi) ainsi que dans d'autres lois, directives, codes, politiques ou instruments. Le Code devrait également être lu conjointement avec toute exigence applicable en matière de déontologie établie par les organismes de réglementation professionnels.

Champ d'application

  1. Le Code s'applique à tous les commissaires à temps plein et à temps partiel de la CISR, qu'ils soient des fonctionnaires nommés au titre de la Loi sur l'emploi dans la fonction publique ou des PND.
  2. Le Code entre en vigueur le 15 décembre 2012 et remplace toutes les versions précédentes du Code de déontologie des commissaires de la Commission de l'immigration et du statut de réfugié du Canada.

Portée

  1. Les normes de conduite énoncées dans le Code reconnaissent et s'appuient sur deux principes fondamentaux: i) la nécessité de préserver et d'accroître la confiance du public dans l'intégrité, l'objectivité et l'impartialité de la CISR, et ii) l'exigence d'indépendance dans le processus décisionnel.
  2. Le Code est fondé sur l'engagement de la CISR à l'égard des valeurs suivantes : honnêteté, bonne foi, équité, responsabilité, dignité, respect, transparence, ouverture, discrétion, sensibilité culturelle et loyauté.
  3. Ces normes portent sur les responsabilités des commissaires à l'égard du tribunal - y compris les collègues et les employés - et des parties qui comparaissent devant eux ainsi que du public.
  4. Les commissaires doivent se conformer aux normes de conduite énoncées dans le Code. Bien qu'il soit impossible de prévoir toutes les situations possibles dans le Code, les commissaires doivent, en tout temps, agir honnêtement et de bonne foi, avec professionnalisme et éthique.

Application

  1. Le président est responsable de l'application du Code, y compris de toute question liée à son interprétation. Les commissaires doivent répondre de leur conformité au Code devant le président.
  2. Les commissaires gestionnaires doivent veiller à ce que les commissaires connaissent le Code et s'y conforment.
  3. Les commissaires sont encouragés à signaler le plus rapidement possible au président les cas où la conduite d'un autre commissaire qui ne respecte pas le Code, lorsque cette conduite est susceptible de porter atteinte à l'intégrité de la CISR.
  4. Les commissaires fonctionnaires peuvent adresser toute question relative à l'interprétation ou à l'application du Code à leur vice-président; les commissaires nommés par décret peuvent adresser leurs questions au directeur de la Direction des services de secrétariat pour les PND, ou à son successeur en titre.

B. RESPONSABILITÉS DES COMMISSAIRES À L'ÉGARD DU TRIBUNAL

Conformité aux lois

  1. Les commissaires doivent se conformer aux dispositions de la Loi, à son règlement d'application et à toutes les règles applicables établies sous le régime de la Loi ainsi qu'à toute autre disposition pertinente prévue par les lois et les instruments de politique pertinents qui s'appliquent à leur travail et à celui de la CISR.

Cohérence

  1. Lorsqu'ils statuent sur un cas, les commissaires doivent soutenir l'intérêt institutionnel de la CISR consistant à assurer la cohérence dans ses décisions, tout en reconnaissant qu'aucune influence indue ne doit porter atteinte à leur indépendance décisionnelle.

Communications

  1. Les commissaires ne doivent ni révéler ni divulguer tout renseignement de nature confidentielle obtenu dans l'exercice de leurs fonctions de commissaire. Cela signifie la divulgation à l'extérieur de la CISR, à d'autres ministères ou organismes gouvernementaux ou au grand public, ainsi qu'au sein de la CISR, aux commissaires et au personnel lorsque cela n'est pas requis sur le plan opérationnel.
  2. Les commissaires ne doivent pas communiquer avec les médias ni exprimer publiquement leur opinion au sujet de (i) toute question liée au travail de la CISR, ou; (ii) toute autre question qui pourrait donner lieu à une crainte raisonnable de partialité. Les demandes de renseignements doivent être transmises au bureau de la CISR responsable des communications avec les intervenants externes.
  3. Sous réserve de l'exception prévue à l'article 18, les commissaires ne doivent pas communiquer avec d'autres ministères ou organismes du gouvernement, ni avec des représentants élus ou leur personnel, au sujet de (i) toute question concernant le travail de la CISR, ou; (ii) toute autre question qui pourrait donner lieu à une crainte raisonnable de partialité. Les demandes de renseignements doivent être transmises au bureau de la CISR responsable des communications avec les intervenants externes.
  4. Les commissaires peuvent communiquer avec d'autres ministères ou organismes du gouvernement au sujet d'une question se rapportant au travail de la CISR lorsque la communication est effectuée dans l'exercice de leurs fonctions officielles.
  5. Les responsabilités énoncées aux articles 15 à 17 ne limitent pas les droits ou les obligations que les commissaires peuvent avoir en vertu de toute disposition législative, directive, code, politique ou autre instrument applicable.

Expertise

  1. Les commissaires doivent maintenir un niveau très élevé de compétence et d'expertise professionnelles nécessaires dans l'exercice de leurs fonctions et responsabilités. Les commissaires doivent perfectionner leurs connaissances et leurs aptitudes professionnelles, y compris en participant à la formation continue offerte par la CISR.

Collégialité

  1. Les commissaires doivent exercer leurs fonctions de façon à favoriser un esprit de collégialité entre les commissaires et avec les membres du personnel, et traiter ceux ci avec courtoisie et respect. Les commissaires doivent aider leurs collègues dans le cadre d'échanges respectueux de points de vue, de renseignements et d'opinions.

C. RESPONSABILITÉS DES COMMISSAIRES À L'ÉGARD DES PARTIES

Tenue des audiences

  1. Les commissaires doivent faire preuve de courtoisie et de respect pendant les audiences tout en veillant à ce que les procédures soient menées de façon équitable, ordonnée et efficace.

Justice naturelle

  1. Les commissaires doivent se conformer à tous les principes d'équité procédurale et de justice naturelle. Les commissaires doivent examiner chaque cas avec un esprit ouvert et, en tout temps, doivent être impartiaux et objectifs et être perçus comme tels.
  2. Les commissaires doivent se récuser de toute procédure lorsqu'ils savent, ou devraient raisonnablement savoir, qu'en rendant la décision, ils seraient en situation de conflit d'intérêts, ou que leur participation donnerait lieu à une crainte raisonnable de partialité. Dans ces cas, les commissaires doivent informer immédiatement leur gestionnaire qu'ils se récusent et lui en donner les motifs.

Égalité et adaptations

  1. Les commissaires doivent exercer leurs fonctions sans discrimination. Ils doivent prendre des mesures raisonnables pour répondre aux besoins de tous les participants afin d'assurer leur participation efficace pendant la procédure. Les commissaires doivent tenir compte des différences sociales et culturelles et démontrer de la sensibilité aux droits de la personne.

Communications avec les participants à une procédure

  1. À l'exception des situations prévues par la Loi, les commissaires ne doivent pas communiquer directement ou indirectement avec une partie, un conseil, un témoin, un interprète ou tout autre participant qui n'est pas de la CISR qui comparait devant eux dans une procédure, sauf en présence de toutes les parties ou de leur conseil, si cette communication peut donner lieu à une crainte raisonnable de partialité.
  2. Les commissaires ne doivent pas, pendant la procédure, avoir de contacts sociaux avec une partie, un conseil, un témoin, un interprète ou tout autre participant qui n'est pas de la CISR, qui pourraient donner lieu à une crainte raisonnable de partialité.

Processus décisionnel

  1. Les commissaires doivent statuer sur le bien fondé du cas, à l'issue d'une préparation minutieuse, de l'évaluation objective de la preuve dont ils sont saisis et de l'application du droit pertinent. Le droit pertinent comprend la Loi, la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés, les autres dispositions législatives et réglementaires ainsi que les principes juridiques pertinents, y compris les principes de justice naturelle, et la jurisprudence pertinente. La responsabilité décisionnelle ne doit pas être déléguée.
  2. Les commissaires ne doivent pas se laisser influencer par des considérations externes ou indues lorsqu'ils statuent sur un cas. Ils doivent rendre leurs décisions libres de toute influence indue de la part de personnes, d'institutions, de groupes d'intérêt ou du processus politique.
  3. Les commissaires doivent rendre leurs motifs conformément aux normes établies par la CISR en ce qui a trait à la qualité du processus décisionnel et des délais de traitement.
  4. Les commissaires doivent tenir compte du respect de la vie privée des personnes dans la conduite des procédures et dans la rédaction des décisions, en s'assurant d'y inclure seulement les renseignements personnels nécessaires pour expliquer leur raisonnement.

D. RESPONSABILITÉS DES COMMISSAIRES À L'ÉGARD DU PUBLIC

Intégrité

  1. Les commissaires doivent faire preuve d'intégrité et éviter tout comportement inapproprié ou en apparence inapproprié.

Conflits d'intérêts

  1. Les commissaires sont tenus de gérer leurs affaires personnelles de manière à éviter de se trouver en situation de conflit d'intérêts, conformément aux mesures législatives, aux directives, aux codes ou aux autres instruments applicables visant les fonctionnaires ou les PND.

Partialité

  1. Les commissaires doivent se comporter de manière à ne pas faire mettre en doute leur capacité d'exercer leurs fonctions en toute objectivité.

Cadeaux et autres avantages

  1. Les commissaires ne doivent pas accepter de cadeaux ni d'autres avantages, notamment des marques d'hospitalité, conformément aux dispositions législatives, aux directives, aux codes, aux politiques ou aux autres instruments applicables visant les fonctionnaires ou les PND.

Activités externes

  1. Les commissaires peuvent participer à des activités externes qui ne sont pas contraires ou incompatibles avec leurs fonctions et leurs responsabilités officielles, ou qui ne jettent pas de doute sur leur capacité d'exercer leurs fonctions objectivement. Les activités externes se définissent comme des activités qui ne font pas partie des fonctions officielles d'un commissaire et auxquelles ce dernier participe à titre personnel, comme des conférences et des séminaires de formation, des activités de bénévolat, des fonctions d'enseignement, des collectes de fonds non politiques, des allocutions publiques et des entrevues.
  2. Les commissaires doivent obtenir toute approbation écrite nécessaire avant de participer à ces activités externes, conformément aux mesures législatives, aux directives, aux codes, aux politiques ou aux autres instruments applicables visant les fonctionnaires ou les PND.