Admissibility Hearing Statistics

The Immigration Division (ID), of the Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada (IRB), conducts admissibility hearings for certain categories of people believed to be inadmissible to Canada under the law.

At the request of the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA), foreign nationals or permanent residents who are believed to have contravened the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act (IRPA) appear before the ID for admissibility hearings. In a limited number of cases, Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) may also request an admissibility hearing. In some cases, the CBSA has the power to issue removal orders directly (only for foreign national and more simple cases); this means that it can remove the person from Canada without requesting an admissibility hearing.

A person may not be able to enter or remain in Canada for one of the following reasons:

  • Security(s. 34)
  • Human or international rights violations (s. 35)
  • Serious criminality (s. 36)
  • Organized criminality (s. 37)
  • Health grounds (s. 38)
  • Financial reasons (s. 39)
  • Misrepresentation (s. 40)
  • Non-compliance with the IRPA (s. 41)
  • Inadmissible family member (s. 42)

A member (decision-maker) will conduct the hearing according to the IRB tribunal process. The process is adversarial. There are two opposing parties: the person concerned and Minister's counsel for the CBSA. Minister's counsel argues why the person should not be allowed to enter or remain in Canada. The person concerned, or his or her counsel, will respond. After considering all the evidence, the member decides whether or not the allegations are founded.

The person concerned or Minister’s counsel may apply to the Federal Court of Canada for permission for a judicial review of any IRB decision. In some circumstances, Minister's counsel or the person concerned may apply to the Immigration Appeal Division.

Admissibility Hearing Statistics

Statistiques sur les enquêtes

La Section de l’immigration (SI) de la Commission de l’immigration et du statut de réfugié du Canada (CISR) effectue des enquêtes sur certaines catégories de personnes dont on croit qu’elles sont interdites de territoire au Canada.

À la demande de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC), les étrangers ou les résidents permanents dont on croit qu’ils ont enfreint la Loi sur l’immigration et la protection des réfugiés (LIPR) font l’objet d’une enquête menée par la SI. Dans un nombre limité de cas, Immigration, Réfugiés et Citoyenneté Canada (IRCC) peut également demander la tenue d’une enquête. Dans certains cas, l’ASFC a le pouvoir de prendre directement des mesures de renvoi (seulement dans les cas concernant les étrangers et les cas plus simples), c’est à dire qu’elle peut renvoyer la personne du Canada, sans demander la tenue d’une enquête.

Il est possible qu’une personne ne puisse pas entrer ou séjourner au Canada pour un des motifs suivants:

  • raison de sécurité (art. 34);
  • atteinte aux droits humains ou aux droits internationaux (art. 35);
  • grande criminalité (art. 36);
  • activités de criminalité organisée (art. 37);
  • motifs sanitaires (art. 38);
  • motifs financiers (art. 39);
  • fausses déclarations (art. 40);
  • manquement à la LIPR (art. 41);
  • inadmissibilité familiale (art. 42).

Un commissaire (décideur) tiendra l’enquête conformément au processus du tribunal de la CISR. Le processus est de nature contradictoire, c’est à dire qu’il y a deux parties adverses : l’intéressé et le conseil du ministre de l’ASFC. Le conseil du ministre expose les motifs pour lesquels la personne ne devrait pas être autorisée à entrer ou à séjourner au Canada. L’intéressé, ou son conseil, répond. Après avoir examiné tous les éléments de preuve, le commissaire décide si les allégations qui s’y trouvent sont fondées ou non.

The person concerned or Minister’s counsel may apply to the Federal Court of Canada for permission for a judicial review of any IRB decision. In some circumstances, Minister's counsel or the person concerned may apply to the Immigration Appeal Division.

Statistiques sur les enquêtes